ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/11/17 12:10 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,011 Are you busy
179,404 Re: Forum
170,363 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#179730 - 07/29/08 12:51 PM 100 Amp main pushmatic  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
Are 100 amp 2 pole Main pushmatics available anywhere .
I understand that the prefix on the Part # has to contain the letter M


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#179731 - 07/29/08 01:03 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: dougwells]  
Active 1  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
Grayslake IL, USA
A few weeks ago I was looking for a 2 pole 100A pushmatic. I got a price of $175 to order and much more from a place that had it in stock. I was not looking for a main breaker. The story was they are not in production for the last few years and it's old stock only.

I got a used one from another EC. It had main stamped on the handle.


#179733 - 07/29/08 01:17 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: Active 1]  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,141
kamloops BC Canada
Thanks i will have to go and see if theres a main Stamped on this customers breaker handle.


#179734 - 07/29/08 01:29 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: dougwells]  
electure  Offline


Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,262
Fullerton, CA USA
Doug,

Pushmatic main C/B's are stamped with the letter "W" on them

(I suppose it's just "M" turned upside down laugh )
You can buy one here:
http://cgi.ebay.com/100-AMP-PUSHMAT...dZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em118Q2el1247


#179740 - 07/29/08 06:54 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: electure]  
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I'm sure that the one with "main" stamped on the handle was just one that was removed from a factory-equipped main breaker panel. I hate to think of the hundreds of panels with those breakers that I installed back in their heyday. If I had only held onto one breaker from each panel, I'd have lots of money now. Those things were pretty standard in my area.

Now if you really want to impress me, come up with a 200 amp version. I probably installed 100 panels with factory 200 amp mains. There probably aren't any out there to speak of for sale, but that's probably because they are still working.

Can you tell that I am (was) a PushMatic fan? How many residential panels do you know of with a copper BOLTED bus?


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

#179741 - 07/29/08 07:19 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: EV607797]  
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 874
Originally Posted by EV607797
I'm sure that the one with "main" stamped on the handle was just one that was removed from a factory-equipped main breaker panel. I hate to think of the hundreds of panels with those breakers that I installed back in their heyday. If I had only held onto one breaker from each panel, I'd have lots of money now. Those things were pretty standard in my area.

Now if you really want to impress me, come up with a 200 amp version. I probably installed 100 panels with factory 200 amp mains. There probably aren't any out there to speak of for sale, but that's probably because they are still working.

Can you tell that I am (was) a PushMatic fan? How many residential panels do you know of with a copper BOLTED bus?



Was the main a EQ frame or something else?


#179744 - 07/29/08 07:45 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: NORCAL]  
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I'm too old to remember that stuff, but I do seem to recall EQ115 for a single pole 15. I think that EQ was ITE's standard product with 1" slots like today's Siemens, GE or Homeline, etc.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

#179745 - 07/29/08 08:23 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: dougwells]  
HCE727  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
Delaware County, PA, USA
Give Westway Electrical supply a call at 610-449-8700, ask for Nick, he may have one.


Hank

#179748 - 07/29/08 09:14 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: NORCAL]  
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I'm too old to remember that stuff, but I do seem to recall EQ115 for a single pole 15. I think that EQ was ITE's standard product with 1" slots like today's Siemens, GE or Homeline, etc.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

#179749 - 07/29/08 09:30 PM Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: EV607797]  
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 922
Regina, Sask.
Eecol carries Pushmatic.

Try a pre-owned electrical equipment supplier. I don't know of one in B.C., but if we have one in Regina, they must be everywhere.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8207 MB (Peak: 1.0019 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-12 04:38:37 UTC