ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:20 AM
Another weird NEC code question on Feeder Taps
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:14 AM
NEC 2017_392.22(B)(1)(b)
_What's the smallest width

by Bill Addiss - 09/17/19 07:13 PM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:26 AM
Another NEC 2017 Question_240/24VAC Txfr-Neutral R
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:22 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 11 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
100 Amp main pushmatic #179730 07/29/08 01:51 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,154
dougwells Offline OP
Member
Are 100 amp 2 pole Main pushmatics available anywhere .
I understand that the prefix on the Part # has to contain the letter M

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: dougwells] #179731 07/29/08 02:03 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Active 1 Offline
Member
A few weeks ago I was looking for a 2 pole 100A pushmatic. I got a price of $175 to order and much more from a place that had it in stock. I was not looking for a main breaker. The story was they are not in production for the last few years and it's old stock only.

I got a used one from another EC. It had main stamped on the handle.

Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: Active 1] #179733 07/29/08 02:17 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,154
dougwells Offline OP
Member
Thanks i will have to go and see if theres a main Stamped on this customers breaker handle.

Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: dougwells] #179734 07/29/08 02:29 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,281
electure Offline
Member
Doug,

Pushmatic main C/B's are stamped with the letter "W" on them

(I suppose it's just "M" turned upside down laugh )
You can buy one here:
http://cgi.ebay.com/100-AMP-PUSHMAT...dZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em118Q2el1247

Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: electure] #179740 07/29/08 07:54 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
I'm sure that the one with "main" stamped on the handle was just one that was removed from a factory-equipped main breaker panel. I hate to think of the hundreds of panels with those breakers that I installed back in their heyday. If I had only held onto one breaker from each panel, I'd have lots of money now. Those things were pretty standard in my area.

Now if you really want to impress me, come up with a 200 amp version. I probably installed 100 panels with factory 200 amp mains. There probably aren't any out there to speak of for sale, but that's probably because they are still working.

Can you tell that I am (was) a PushMatic fan? How many residential panels do you know of with a copper BOLTED bus?


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: EV607797] #179741 07/29/08 08:19 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 884
N
NORCAL Offline
Member
Originally Posted by EV607797
I'm sure that the one with "main" stamped on the handle was just one that was removed from a factory-equipped main breaker panel. I hate to think of the hundreds of panels with those breakers that I installed back in their heyday. If I had only held onto one breaker from each panel, I'd have lots of money now. Those things were pretty standard in my area.

Now if you really want to impress me, come up with a 200 amp version. I probably installed 100 panels with factory 200 amp mains. There probably aren't any out there to speak of for sale, but that's probably because they are still working.

Can you tell that I am (was) a PushMatic fan? How many residential panels do you know of with a copper BOLTED bus?



Was the main a EQ frame or something else?

Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: NORCAL] #179744 07/29/08 08:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
I'm too old to remember that stuff, but I do seem to recall EQ115 for a single pole 15. I think that EQ was ITE's standard product with 1" slots like today's Siemens, GE or Homeline, etc.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: dougwells] #179745 07/29/08 09:23 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
HCE727 Offline
Member
Give Westway Electrical supply a call at 610-449-8700, ask for Nick, he may have one.


Hank
Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: NORCAL] #179748 07/29/08 10:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
I'm too old to remember that stuff, but I do seem to recall EQ115 for a single pole 15. I think that EQ was ITE's standard product with 1" slots like today's Siemens, GE or Homeline, etc.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: 100 Amp main pushmatic [Re: EV607797] #179749 07/29/08 10:30 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
Eecol carries Pushmatic.

Try a pre-owned electrical equipment supplier. I don't know of one in B.C., but if we have one in Regina, they must be everywhere.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,262
Joined: July 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 6
Popular Topics(Views)
258,620 Are you busy
194,208 Re: Forum
183,682 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3