ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Southwire Recalls Electrical Outlet Boxes
by Admin - 08/21/19 06:39 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:50 PM
100 year old Light Bulb
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:26 PM
Forum Updates Coming Soon.
by Admin - 08/18/19 01:55 PM
Anybody Remember this?
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 09:07 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 5 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 208V? #203202 09/14/11 01:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 91
H
Helectric Offline OP
Member
Any thoughts or experience with this?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 208V? [Re: Helectric] #203203 09/14/11 02:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,383
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
My bet is no but the answer will be on the label.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 208V? [Re: Helectric] #203205 09/14/11 02:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
If the nameplate say 240 .... no, it won't run properly.

If the nameplate REALLY says 230, you can run it at exactly 208. Any voltage drop at all and you're SOL.

If it says 220, you're good to go.

Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 2 [Re: Helectric] #203210 09/14/11 03:47 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 788
W
wa2ise Offline
Member
In theory, a boost transformer would solve the problem, by raising the 208V to 240V. Something like this place (no affiliation, others may have better product) http://www.transformeronline.com/buckboost.htm

Being code may be an issue.

Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 2 [Re: Helectric] #203211 09/14/11 07:05 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Tesla Offline
Member
I'm unaware of ANY recent HVAC equipment whose motors couldn't tolerate 200-230 nominal, delivered voltages.

More current will be drawn at the reduced voltage.

The big issue for many HVAC systems is not the motor -- but the control power transformer.

Many are multi-tap -- in which case re-tapping would be most wise.

Unlike the motor, the control logic is pretty finely dialed in.


Tesla
Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 2 [Re: Tesla] #203213 09/14/11 07:40 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 98
V
Vindiceptor Offline
Member
Originally Posted by Tesla
I'm unaware of ANY recent HVAC equipment whose motors couldn't tolerate 200-230 nominal, delivered voltages.

More current will be drawn at the reduced voltage.

The big issue for many HVAC systems is not the motor -- but the control power transformer.

Many are multi-tap -- in which case re-tapping would be most wise.

Unlike the motor, the control logic is pretty finely dialed in.


230 rated single phase motors will run at 208 volts, but will probably not last long (more than a few weeks or months) before they burn up.

I'd also question whether a 'window' unit will have any control transformer multi-tap ability, it might though, it seems some of the newer units are dual rated.

Last edited by Vindiceptor; 09/14/11 07:45 PM.
Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 2 [Re: Helectric] #203214 09/14/11 08:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,105
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Just my opinion, but...why not just get a window unit that is rated for nominal 208 volts?

Yes, you can install a buck-boost transformer onto the AC circuit back by the panel, but IMHO the labor and materials will probably be $$$ more than another AC; unless we are talking about a really 'big' window unit.



John
Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 2 [Re: Helectric] #203216 09/14/11 09:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Tesla Offline
Member
230 rated single phase motors will run at 208 volts, but will probably not last long (more than a few weeks or months) before they burn up.

Virtually all small motors made in the last thirty years will ENTIRELY tolerate 200-230 VAC nominal -- its even on their name-plate.

You have to get into larger ( industrial ) sizes before it's an issue.

And, yes, I've installed 240VAC 1 phase HVAC units where only 208VAC power was available. Six years later the units were still running strong.

The HVAC industry has standards -- one of which is to make it possible to run their equipment at both voltages.

There are NO END of apartments out their receiving two legs of 208Y120 power. Ditto for small businesses.

It is in the nature of small hermetic A/C systems for them to operate entirely surrounded by refrigerant -- and to actively reject their heat to the outside.

Their motors can take it, and take it, and take it.


Last edited by Tesla; 09/14/11 09:37 PM.

Tesla
Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 2 [Re: Helectric] #203217 09/14/11 10:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,383
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I just looked a couple up on the internet (LG and Frigidaire) they say 230/208v.

The real answer is going to be on the nameplate of the one in question but it looks like Tesla is right on.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Will a 240v window air conditioner run OK on 2 [Re: Helectric] #203221 09/15/11 02:26 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
I'm with Tesla on this - but I wouldn't even look for taps on a window AC, if they have a transformer. The motor has overload protection and undervoltage probably won't hurt the controls.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The Watt Doctor
The Watt Doctor
Mont Belvieu, TX
Posts: 437
Joined: December 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 21
GeneSF 6
Popular Topics(Views)
257,976 Are you busy
193,696 Re: Forum
183,305 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3