ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 4
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/14/17 07:24 PM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by HotLine1. 12/14/17 07:15 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,051 Are you busy
179,486 Re: Forum
170,410 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (HotLine1), 22 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#100917 - 01/22/07 09:50 AM adding a second meter  
skipper  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
dartmouth ,mass
what is the best way to tap the entrance cable at the meter socket ? also my second panel is 50 ft away do i need to have a disconect just after the meter ?


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#100918 - 01/22/07 10:20 AM Re: adding a second meter  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Will your POCO even allow the second meter on this one drop or lateral?

Roger


#100919 - 01/22/07 10:40 AM Re: adding a second meter  
skipper  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
dartmouth ,mass
the women i talked to at NStar told me that since i had a 200amp service and was only adding a 100 amp panel that i could just tie into the existing meter and add the second meter. I dont know i dont do res. work. before i talked to the inspector i figure i get some info


#100920 - 01/22/07 11:31 AM Re: adding a second meter  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Is this a lateral or overhead service?

Is NStar your POCO?

Roger


#100921 - 01/22/07 11:39 AM Re: adding a second meter  
skipper  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
dartmouth ,mass
NSTAR IS MY POCO and it is and over head with a 4/0 service drop to the first meter


#100922 - 01/22/07 11:53 AM Re: adding a second meter  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
4/0 wire .... well, we're not talking about wire nuts here!

In similar situations, I instal a gutter in the service drop, before the meters. There, I make my splices, using NSI / Polaris set screw connectors. The PoCo has no problem with adding a seal to the gutter.

[Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by renosteinke (edited 01-22-2007).]


#100923 - 01/22/07 12:53 PM Re: adding a second meter  
skipper  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
dartmouth ,mass
boy that helps thanks!


#100924 - 01/22/07 02:08 PM Re: adding a second meter  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Now, for the rest of your question, both panels will need disconnecting means grouped together on the exterior of the building. If the existing panel already has a disconnect at the meter you will only need to supply one for the new panel.

Read 230.72

Roger


#100925 - 01/22/07 09:47 PM Re: adding a second meter  
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 721
Tucson, AZ USA
reno, does the poco require you to supply the sealable screwheads?


#100926 - 01/22/07 10:25 PM Re: adding a second meter  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
The gutters made by Hoffman come with a small hasp that will accept a seal.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8163 MB (Peak: 0.9921 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-15 00:33:38 UTC