ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,882 Are you busy
175,454 Re: Forum
167,731 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 43 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#100917 - 01/22/07 10:50 AM adding a second meter  
skipper  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
dartmouth ,mass
what is the best way to tap the entrance cable at the meter socket ? also my second panel is 50 ft away do i need to have a disconect just after the meter ?


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#100918 - 01/22/07 11:20 AM Re: adding a second meter  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Will your POCO even allow the second meter on this one drop or lateral?

Roger


#100919 - 01/22/07 11:40 AM Re: adding a second meter  
skipper  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
dartmouth ,mass
the women i talked to at NStar told me that since i had a 200amp service and was only adding a 100 amp panel that i could just tie into the existing meter and add the second meter. I dont know i dont do res. work. before i talked to the inspector i figure i get some info


#100920 - 01/22/07 12:31 PM Re: adding a second meter  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Is this a lateral or overhead service?

Is NStar your POCO?

Roger


#100921 - 01/22/07 12:39 PM Re: adding a second meter  
skipper  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
dartmouth ,mass
NSTAR IS MY POCO and it is and over head with a 4/0 service drop to the first meter


#100922 - 01/22/07 12:53 PM Re: adding a second meter  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
4/0 wire .... well, we're not talking about wire nuts here!

In similar situations, I instal a gutter in the service drop, before the meters. There, I make my splices, using NSI / Polaris set screw connectors. The PoCo has no problem with adding a seal to the gutter.

[Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by renosteinke (edited 01-22-2007).]


#100923 - 01/22/07 01:53 PM Re: adding a second meter  
skipper  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
dartmouth ,mass
boy that helps thanks!


#100924 - 01/22/07 03:08 PM Re: adding a second meter  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Now, for the rest of your question, both panels will need disconnecting means grouped together on the exterior of the building. If the existing panel already has a disconnect at the meter you will only need to supply one for the new panel.

Read 230.72

Roger


#100925 - 01/22/07 10:47 PM Re: adding a second meter  
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 719
Tucson, AZ USA
reno, does the poco require you to supply the sealable screwheads?


#100926 - 01/22/07 11:25 PM Re: adding a second meter  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
The gutters made by Hoffman come with a small hasp that will accept a seal.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,878
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8161 MB (Peak: 0.9919 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-17 21:30:30 UTC