ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
Motor Load Relationships Between Fans and Pumps
by The Watt Doctor - 11/18/21 09:24 AM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 11/05/21 06:45 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 42 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
A
Member
I require my employees to install all recepts by hand. Common screwdriver and strippers only... No sidecutters allowed, no cordless drills (I do let them use a drill to mount device in box). What do you allow your help to do? Using cordless drills to wire a device scares me a bit even if it is faster.

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Member
My Humble Opinion:

Install 'em by hand and use a flat blade for torquing the terminals... Guess we're really suppose to use a torque-screwdriver...

Personally, I can't get a screw as tight with a phillips head, give me a straight slot or a square tip any day...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 280
M
Member
'66 and arsegee:
I am with you no power tools to install receptacles.
Yes we are suppose to torque the screws on receptalces, since getting my new Klein Torque screw driver, and the the required torque for a receptacle is 9-12 in-#, this is according to Hubbel, I have realized how much we have a tendency to overtorque everything. I usually set the driver at 12 in-# and it dont take much to 'Snap-it' and your done it holds it snug but not overly tite.
-Mark-

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
I wouldn't even have thought about using a power screwdriver to wire up devices.

I like to feel how tight the connections are for my own peace of mind.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 257
M
Member
I have carpel tunnel so my wrists hurt very bad when I'm installing devices all day. Sometimes to the point where I can't hold a tool.

I started using a Milwaukee cordless screwdriver a few years ago to tighten terminal screws and mounting screws on devices and have had no problems.

When the screw driver tightens down I simply give it one more twist while I'm still holding the trigger. I can judge weather or not the screw is tight.

I have seen some apprentices using a cordless drill to tighten terminal screws on devices and I stop them immediatly. My fear here is overtightning and cracking or damaging the device.

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 60
J
Member
Myself, I use a cheap black and decker cordless screwdriver. They sell them at home depot for $19.99. You can really get a good feeling at how much torque you are using with it. Not to mention in speeds up the installation process by 40-50%. As for a helpper. Well let him practice on some junk recep's untill he gets the feel for it. Then I would let them use it. But as for a cordless drill. I would never use it, too past and you do not feel how much torque is being applied.

James

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Member
I have noticed that my DeWalt 14.4V is a tool, where my Milwaukee 18V is more of a precise instrument as far as judgement of torque and slow speed "placement" of the tip...

Milwaukee also gives torque specs for each of the clutch settings, but I've seem to have buried the book in a mound of papers somewhere...

It would definitely require practice and a good "feel" to do it right.

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 05-14-2002).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 159
C
CRW Offline
Member
I missed something on the first post. What are the side-cutters for, WRT installing the receptacle--and then why can't they use them? Yeah I would think the screw driver and stripper would be enough.

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
A
Member
CRW, through the years I have seen so many guys that strip their wires with their pliers and make the loop. One of the old timers I worked for use to rag me about using strippers. One time I pulled apart some of his work and showed how he was slightly nicking the conductor and thus lowering the ampacity. He never said another word about it but he still uses his sidecutters to strip with.

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,042
Likes: 3
Member
arseegee,

The old timer you talk about may also have been responsible for a number of broken Aluminum wires with his "technique"

Bill


Bill
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,412
Joined: July 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 3
Popular Topics(Views)
286,176 Are you busy
218,629 Re: Forum
204,826 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5