ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by gfretwell. 11/16/18 01:45 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 31 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79612
01/08/02 08:59 PM
01/08/02 08:59 PM
F
frodo  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 129
louisville, ky usa
hi,
what is the best wiring method for a horse barn? weatherproof everything?

how about the overhead service drop from the main load center on the pole to the barn? doesnt this have to be a quadraplex cable? (insulated neutral)..

what about grounding at the pole with no water line available? two ground rods? connected together or seperately?

thanks

frodo

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79613
01/08/02 09:11 PM
01/08/02 09:11 PM
S
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,371
Hi frodo

yes
yes
not sure what U mean there..?

obviously, you've gone thru 547..

As a horse dad add..crib-proof & tantrum-proof, double it for a pony.

Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79614
01/08/02 10:02 PM
01/08/02 10:02 PM
F
frodo  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 129
louisville, ky usa
hi,
i installed a 200A Loadcenter on a pole. from the loadcenter off a 40A double pole using #4 quadraplex. they go through a 1 1/4 emt out a weather head over to a barn into a 125 loadcenter with a 40A main. i am bringing a quadraplex over for two reasons; 1) it brings my ground over from the pole. 2) i get an insulated neutral. i drove a single ground rod at the barn.

what do I need at the service for grounding? there is no water line. i figured i would drive two ground rods.

will this satisfy the code?

if i use two ground rods 6 feet apart, do the rods have to be tied together or have a seperate run of #6 from each rod?

i am planning on using emt and fs boxes to install switches and lighting in the barn. this is the best method i can think of.

thanks for all the input..

frodo

Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79615
01/09/02 02:04 AM
01/09/02 02:04 AM
Joe Tedesco  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Boston, Massachusetts USA
See Article 547 in the NEC.

[This message has been edited by Joe Tedesco (edited 02-04-2002).]


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79616
01/09/02 06:52 AM
01/09/02 06:52 AM
F
frodo  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 129
louisville, ky usa
hi,
thanks for all the input, its good to have a plce to go to for friendly discussions and advice.

-regards

frodo

Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79617
01/09/02 10:06 AM
01/09/02 10:06 AM
sparky66wv  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
West Virginia
May I suggest PVC FS boxes and PVC rigid pipe (sched 80 where needed) rather than ferrous metal?

Corrosive environment, No?


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79618
01/09/02 01:37 PM
01/09/02 01:37 PM
T
tdhorne  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 345
Maryland, USA
Frodo Wrote:
"i installed a 200A Loadcenter on a pole. from the loadcenter off a 40A double pole using #4 quadraplex. they go through a 1 1/4 emt out a weather head over to a barn into a 125 loadcenter with a 40A main. i am bringing a quadraplex over for two reasons; 1) it brings my ground over from the pole. 2) i get an insulated neutral. i drove a single ground rod at the barn.

what do I need at the service for grounding? there is no water line. i figured i would drive two ground rods.

will this satisfy the code?

if i use two ground rods 6 feet apart, do the rods have to be tied together or have a seperate run of #6 from each rod?

i am planning on using emt and fs boxes to install switches and lighting in the barn. this is the best method i can think of.

thanks for all the input.."

Frodo
Which edition of the NEC are you working with in your area? That effects the answers a lot. For 1996 you are fine so far, for 1999 you need two rods at each building. In either case you can run one Grounding Electrode Conductor (GEC) to the first ground rod through the acorn clamp and on to the acorn clamp of the second ground rod. If you are using solid state controlled equipment in any of these buildings then you may want to get a lot more fussy about the grounding then the code requires. If you have a drilled water well within reach of any of these buildings consider running a GEC to it.
--
Tom


Tom Horne

"This alternating current stuff is just a fad. It is much too dangerous for general use" Thomas Alva Edison
Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79619
01/10/02 08:43 PM
01/10/02 08:43 PM
F
frodo  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 129
louisville, ky usa
hi,
my area recognizes the 1999 code. on a seperate building, detached garage etc., where no ground conductor has been run then two ground rods may be required but where a egc is run with the conductors do you still need two ground rods?

i always run a ground conductor from the service to the building or detached garage to keep from having to drive two rods.

i have passed a few inspections with only one ground rod at the detached garage or building as long as i have the ground run with the feeder.

thanks

frodo

Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79620
01/10/02 08:48 PM
01/10/02 08:48 PM
F
frodo  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 129
louisville, ky usa
hi,
pvc is a consideration. is it cost effective vs emt?

-regards

frodo

Re: Best wiring method for Horse Barn #79621
01/10/02 09:53 PM
01/10/02 09:53 PM
sparky66wv  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
West Virginia
I show 1/2" EMT @ $0.16 per foot and 1/2" PVC at $0.18, plus the fittings are a little more expensive and the PVC conduit requires 3.3 times as many straps, but in the long run, it will hold up to the test of time. EMT will eventually rust out in an agricutural environment.

Care must be taken to provide for temperature expansion and contraction of the PVC pipe, using "frosties" or other expansion type joints.


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
251,505 Are you busy
188,681 Re: Forum
178,384 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0269 MB (Peak: 1.2032 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-16 09:43:26 UTC