ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
NEC 2017_392.22(B)(1)(b)
_What's the smallest width

by gfretwell - 09/21/19 11:37 PM
Another weird NEC code question on Feeder Taps
by gfretwell - 09/21/19 11:35 PM
Kichler Lighting Recalls Pendant Lights
by Admin - 09/18/19 08:47 PM
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:20 AM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 5 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
septic tank instalations #68423 08/08/06 08:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
F
for2aflush Offline OP
Junior Member
I have a 120 volt line in running in conduit for the pump. i have a low volt alarm wire that that i want to put in the same conduit as the 120 volt pump feed . im going to use the same wire and gauge for both can i put both wires in the same conduit? this is for a septic pump and high water alarm . thanks for any help you can offer

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: septic tank instalations #68424 08/08/06 09:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
300.3 C1

Re: septic tank instalations #68425 08/08/06 09:27 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Yoopersup Offline
Member
300.3c Read FPN See 725.(A) for class 2&3 circuit conductors if control wires not class 1.

Re: septic tank instalations #68426 08/08/06 09:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,394
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Just remember you made the "low voltage" signalling circuit a 725 class 1 when you put it in there with the line voltage so you pretty much treat it like line voltage.


Greg Fretwell
Re: septic tank instalations #68427 08/09/06 10:08 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Yoopersup Offline
Member
Difinitions Class 1 725.1. Class 2 & 3 725.41
Putting a Class 2 circuit in with a line voltage Does Not make it a class 1. Read 725.55 Thats the Reason for the FPN.

Re: septic tank instalations #68428 08/09/06 10:51 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,394
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I don't see any reason why you can't treat a class 2 circuit as a class 1 if you wire it all to class 1 standards. All the voltage/current limits I see in the definitions are upper limits, not lower ones.
If anything in that circuit is not appropriate for a class 1 you can't do it.

[This message has been edited by gfretwell (edited 08-09-2006).]


Greg Fretwell
Re: septic tank instalations #68429 08/10/06 07:36 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Yoopersup Offline
Member
752.52 A exception #2 I belive is what you are referring to. But even there it states you must comply with Part 2 Class 1 circuits.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,281
Joined: December 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
258,775 Are you busy
194,338 Re: Forum
183,802 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3