ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/18/18 09:08 AM
Light Pole Grounding
by Mosfet74. 08/18/18 08:42 AM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 3 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
septic tank instalations #68423
08/08/06 08:42 PM
08/08/06 08:42 PM
F
for2aflush  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
riverton,nj,us
I have a 120 volt line in running in conduit for the pump. i have a low volt alarm wire that that i want to put in the same conduit as the 120 volt pump feed . im going to use the same wire and gauge for both can i put both wires in the same conduit? this is for a septic pump and high water alarm . thanks for any help you can offer

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: septic tank instalations #68424
08/08/06 09:03 PM
08/08/06 09:03 PM
L
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
300.3 C1

Re: septic tank instalations #68425
08/08/06 09:27 PM
08/08/06 09:27 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 845
Michigan
300.3c Read FPN See 725.(A) for class 2&3 circuit conductors if control wires not class 1.

Re: septic tank instalations #68426
08/08/06 09:52 PM
08/08/06 09:52 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,252
Estero,Fl,usa
Just remember you made the "low voltage" signalling circuit a 725 class 1 when you put it in there with the line voltage so you pretty much treat it like line voltage.


Greg Fretwell
Re: septic tank instalations #68427
08/09/06 10:08 PM
08/09/06 10:08 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 845
Michigan
Difinitions Class 1 725.1. Class 2 & 3 725.41
Putting a Class 2 circuit in with a line voltage Does Not make it a class 1. Read 725.55 Thats the Reason for the FPN.

Re: septic tank instalations #68428
08/09/06 10:51 PM
08/09/06 10:51 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,252
Estero,Fl,usa
I don't see any reason why you can't treat a class 2 circuit as a class 1 if you wire it all to class 1 standards. All the voltage/current limits I see in the definitions are upper limits, not lower ones.
If anything in that circuit is not appropriate for a class 1 you can't do it.

[This message has been edited by gfretwell (edited 08-09-2006).]


Greg Fretwell
Re: septic tank instalations #68429
08/10/06 07:36 PM
08/10/06 07:36 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 845
Michigan
752.52 A exception #2 I belive is what you are referring to. But even there it states you must comply with Part 2 Class 1 circuits.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,623 Are you busy
186,362 Re: Forum
175,828 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9834 MB (Peak: 1.1368 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-19 09:44:51 UTC