ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 8
Recent Posts
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by HotLine1. 12/17/17 10:04 PM
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/17/17 09:47 PM
Holiday Wishes to all!!
by sparky. 12/17/17 03:45 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,090 Are you busy
179,534 Re: Forum
170,444 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#68423 - 08/08/06 07:42 PM septic tank instalations  
for2aflush  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
riverton,nj,us
I have a 120 volt line in running in conduit for the pump. i have a low volt alarm wire that that i want to put in the same conduit as the 120 volt pump feed . im going to use the same wire and gauge for both can i put both wires in the same conduit? this is for a septic pump and high water alarm . thanks for any help you can offer


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#68424 - 08/08/06 08:03 PM Re: septic tank instalations  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
300.3 C1


#68425 - 08/08/06 08:27 PM Re: septic tank instalations  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 840
Michigan
300.3c Read FPN See 725.(A) for class 2&3 circuit conductors if control wires not class 1.


#68426 - 08/08/06 08:52 PM Re: septic tank instalations  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,142
Estero,Fl,usa
Just remember you made the "low voltage" signalling circuit a 725 class 1 when you put it in there with the line voltage so you pretty much treat it like line voltage.


Greg Fretwell

#68427 - 08/09/06 09:08 PM Re: septic tank instalations  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 840
Michigan
Difinitions Class 1 725.1. Class 2 & 3 725.41
Putting a Class 2 circuit in with a line voltage Does Not make it a class 1. Read 725.55 Thats the Reason for the FPN.


#68428 - 08/09/06 09:51 PM Re: septic tank instalations  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,142
Estero,Fl,usa
I don't see any reason why you can't treat a class 2 circuit as a class 1 if you wire it all to class 1 standards. All the voltage/current limits I see in the definitions are upper limits, not lower ones.
If anything in that circuit is not appropriate for a class 1 you can't do it.

[This message has been edited by gfretwell (edited 08-09-2006).]


Greg Fretwell

#68429 - 08/10/06 06:36 PM Re: septic tank instalations  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 840
Michigan
752.52 A exception #2 I belive is what you are referring to. But even there it states you must comply with Part 2 Class 1 circuits.



Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7839 MB (Peak: 0.9388 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-18 04:52:01 UTC