ECN Forum

septic tank instalations

Posted By: for2aflush

septic tank instalations - 08/09/06 12:42 AM

I have a 120 volt line in running in conduit for the pump. i have a low volt alarm wire that that i want to put in the same conduit as the 120 volt pump feed . im going to use the same wire and gauge for both can i put both wires in the same conduit? this is for a septic pump and high water alarm . thanks for any help you can offer
Posted By: LK

Re: septic tank instalations - 08/09/06 01:03 AM

300.3 C1
Posted By: Yoopersup

Re: septic tank instalations - 08/09/06 01:27 AM

300.3c Read FPN See 725.(A) for class 2&3 circuit conductors if control wires not class 1.
Posted By: gfretwell

Re: septic tank instalations - 08/09/06 01:52 AM

Just remember you made the "low voltage" signalling circuit a 725 class 1 when you put it in there with the line voltage so you pretty much treat it like line voltage.
Posted By: Yoopersup

Re: septic tank instalations - 08/10/06 02:08 AM

Difinitions Class 1 725.1. Class 2 & 3 725.41
Putting a Class 2 circuit in with a line voltage Does Not make it a class 1. Read 725.55 Thats the Reason for the FPN.
Posted By: gfretwell

Re: septic tank instalations - 08/10/06 02:51 AM

I don't see any reason why you can't treat a class 2 circuit as a class 1 if you wire it all to class 1 standards. All the voltage/current limits I see in the definitions are upper limits, not lower ones.
If anything in that circuit is not appropriate for a class 1 you can't do it.

[This message has been edited by gfretwell (edited 08-09-2006).]
Posted By: Yoopersup

Re: septic tank instalations - 08/10/06 11:36 PM

752.52 A exception #2 I belive is what you are referring to. But even there it states you must comply with Part 2 Class 1 circuits.
© 2019 ECN Electrical Forums