ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 22 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Update on new cheeta boxes #66244
05/28/06 10:57 AM
05/28/06 10:57 AM
S
steve ancient apprentice  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 169
west springfield,mass
Sorry about the late posting. Computer problems. We installed the devices. Time saved was at least 60 percent faster than the typical installation. Very user friendley. Although the entire device is plastic with no metal parts I am not entireley pleased with no ground screw on the switch devices. Probably cause I never installed a device without a ground screw. Do they save time? Yes. Would I use them again? Yes. I found the system very user friendley. Good luck out there and please be safe.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66245
05/28/06 11:43 AM
05/28/06 11:43 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Quote
I found the system very user friendly


It may be contractor friendly but I doubt it will turn out to be customer friendly.

They are now stuck with electric boxes that will not take standard devices.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66246
05/28/06 11:52 AM
05/28/06 11:52 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Here is a single gang box.

[Linked Image]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66247
05/28/06 12:11 PM
05/28/06 12:11 PM
S
steve ancient apprentice  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 169
west springfield,mass
Youmay change out the cheeta device with a regular device. Only problem with it is that after changeing out the device you will have cover plates with screws in them rather than a clean plate with no screws.

Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66248
05/28/06 12:32 PM
05/28/06 12:32 PM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Steve, how is that possible?

All I see is a large square hole where the 6-32 would go.

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66249
05/28/06 12:44 PM
05/28/06 12:44 PM
S
stamcon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 333
So San Francisco CA
Bob, the OEM device has a plastic block that pushes into that hole. If a common device is wanted to be installed, the OEM device is unscrewed from the block and the new device screwed in.

steve


Steve
Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66250
05/28/06 05:27 PM
05/28/06 05:27 PM
L
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
Bob, think of it as job security: as long as they call you, it won't be an issue.

Besides, if I'm not mistaken, you can buy the black anchor blocks separately.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com
Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66251
05/28/06 07:46 PM
05/28/06 07:46 PM
S
steve ancient apprentice  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 169
west springfield,mass
Larry is correct. The anchors are a big 7 cents . Should not break the bank.

Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66252
05/28/06 09:53 PM
05/28/06 09:53 PM
G
georgestolz  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Fort Collins, CO, US
Thanks for the update. I've spoken out against them, but as yet have been too chicken to try them out. [Linked Image]


-George
Re: Update on new cheeta boxes #66253
05/29/06 06:54 AM
05/29/06 06:54 AM
W
winnie  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 649
boston, ma
When I looked at their web page last time, I figured that they'd answered the issue (compatibility with standard devices) in a quite clever fashion. Their devices attach to their boxes using their proprietary anchors. But the devices themselves attach to the anchors using standard screws on standard spacing. So if at install you want to use some device that they don't sell, you can just attach anchors to it, and if in the future the home owner wants to replace devices with standard devices, they can do that.

Their FAQ indicates that you can use standard devices, replace their special devices with standard devices, and even get an adapter than lets you use their special face plates with standard devices.
http://www.cheetahspeed.com/cheetah_electrician_faq.html

I've not used these...but IMHO pretty clever.

-Jon

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
251,417 Are you busy
188,638 Re: Forum
178,342 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.028s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 1.0247 MB (Peak: 1.2011 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-14 01:34:21 UTC