ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,444 Are you busy
177,424 Re: Forum
169,010 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#66244 - 05/28/06 11:57 AM Update on new cheeta boxes  
steve ancient apprentice  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 169
west springfield,mass
Sorry about the late posting. Computer problems. We installed the devices. Time saved was at least 60 percent faster than the typical installation. Very user friendley. Although the entire device is plastic with no metal parts I am not entireley pleased with no ground screw on the switch devices. Probably cause I never installed a device without a ground screw. Do they save time? Yes. Would I use them again? Yes. I found the system very user friendley. Good luck out there and please be safe.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#66245 - 05/28/06 12:43 PM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Quote
I found the system very user friendly


It may be contractor friendly but I doubt it will turn out to be customer friendly.

They are now stuck with electric boxes that will not take standard devices.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#66246 - 05/28/06 12:52 PM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Here is a single gang box.

[Linked Image]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#66247 - 05/28/06 01:11 PM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
steve ancient apprentice  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 169
west springfield,mass
Youmay change out the cheeta device with a regular device. Only problem with it is that after changeing out the device you will have cover plates with screws in them rather than a clean plate with no screws.


#66248 - 05/28/06 01:32 PM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Steve, how is that possible?

All I see is a large square hole where the 6-32 would go.

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#66249 - 05/28/06 01:44 PM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
stamcon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 329
So San Francisco CA
Bob, the OEM device has a plastic block that pushes into that hole. If a common device is wanted to be installed, the OEM device is unscrewed from the block and the new device screwed in.

steve


#66250 - 05/28/06 06:27 PM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
Bob, think of it as job security: as long as they call you, it won't be an issue.

Besides, if I'm not mistaken, you can buy the black anchor blocks separately.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com

#66251 - 05/28/06 08:46 PM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
steve ancient apprentice  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 169
west springfield,mass
Larry is correct. The anchors are a big 7 cents . Should not break the bank.


#66252 - 05/28/06 10:53 PM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
georgestolz  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Fort Collins, CO, US
Thanks for the update. I've spoken out against them, but as yet have been too chicken to try them out. [Linked Image]


-George

#66253 - 05/29/06 07:54 AM Re: Update on new cheeta boxes  
winnie  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 649
boston, ma
When I looked at their web page last time, I figured that they'd answered the issue (compatibility with standard devices) in a quite clever fashion. Their devices attach to their boxes using their proprietary anchors. But the devices themselves attach to the anchors using standard screws on standard spacing. So if at install you want to use some device that they don't sell, you can just attach anchors to it, and if in the future the home owner wants to replace devices with standard devices, they can do that.

Their FAQ indicates that you can use standard devices, replace their special devices with standard devices, and even get an adapter than lets you use their special face plates with standard devices.
http://www.cheetahspeed.com/cheetah_electrician_faq.html

I've not used these...but IMHO pretty clever.

-Jon


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8180 MB (Peak: 0.9938 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-22 13:25:49 UTC