ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Anybody comment on materials pricing?
by gfretwell - 06/10/21 01:33 PM
2 pole GFI feeding 1 and 2 pole loads
by gfretwell - 06/04/21 02:27 AM
Lock-down Thread
by HotLine1 - 06/01/21 08:15 AM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 05/31/21 12:09 AM
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by HotLine1 - 05/29/21 12:13 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 42 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#53056 06/16/05 11:39 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
Member
The puzzle for the day:

A friend has an old Sony radio with a line-voltage selector with positions for 110V, 127V, and 240V. I've never heard of any place that has 127V outlets. I note that 127*sqrt(3)=220, so I figure this voltage comes from a line-to-neutral connection on a 220V wye system.

Does anyone know where they're actually using 127V as a standard wall-receptacle voltage?

#53057 06/16/05 12:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 329
I
Member
This is the old 127/220V WYE system used in Europe and perhaps elsewhere. It is/has been phased out. Most of the countries that used to use it are standardizing on 220 volts only. I think it's most common occurence was the old Spanish/French electrical systems. It may still be used elsewhere in the world but as to where I am not sure. Perhaps some of our non-US members can say more.

#53058 06/16/05 05:54 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 349
Member
So if you use this radio at your house, and if you measured 120 volts at the outlets, maybe you would use the 127v setting as being closer to the 120 volt supply than the 110v setting?


There are 10 types of people. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
#53059 06/16/05 07:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Yes, as Ian said it comes from the old European standard which used 220Y/127 distribution networks, including parts of France and Spain.

Most of these have been converted over to 380Y/220 over the years, but I know that 127V was still in use in parts of France in the 1970s.

Belgium still has 220Y/127 distribution, but now with all loads connected phase-to-phase to get 220.

Some South American countries which were influenced by Eiropean conventions still have 127V, including, if I recall correctly, Brazil.

#53060 06/17/05 09:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,492
T
Member
Old Austrian radios (until around 1970 I think) had an even weirder voltage setting... 150V! I've never heard about a 150V system being actually used anywhere, but one guy on the internet claimed he once saw a black ungrounded receptacle labeled "150V" in a rural transformer station once. He admitted not even the PoCo guy could tell him what it was intended for... but it was live at roughly 150V!
So I assume some independent rural systems started with 150V.

#53061 06/19/05 09:57 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,497
C
C-H Offline
Member
Mexico still has 127/220V (60 Hz) as the standard voltage and a few places, including as mentioned Brazil but also Saudi Arabia, have 127/220V (60 Hz) as one of several systems.

It was once Soviet standard as well (at 50 Hz) and I'm told old systems survive in a couple of places where Soviet engineers were active, like Vietnam. Along with American 120V, French 110V and European 220V of course...

Quite possibly one can find this voltage in other little known corners of the world.

#53062 06/19/05 11:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 93
J
Member
PaulUK:

> Belgium still has 220Y/127 distribution, but now with all loads connected phase-to-phase to get 220.

I wonder where you found this info. It might be the case in a couple of small villages and even very local areas of old towns (though I doubt it) but 127V is an obsolete standard and it is very rare now. Perhaps the source of your info is quite old.

Nearly all domestic or small commercial supplies (eg for shops) in Belgium have supplies at 230V line-to-neutral or 400V line-to-line, with three phases being common for larger houses. The nominal supply voltage was altered from 220 to 230 some time back.

#53063 06/19/05 06:23 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 790
W
Member
Quote
Quite possibly one can find this voltage in other little known corners of the world.

I had 127V in my house in New Jersey some years ago. [Linked Image] And no, it wasn't a bad neutral. Turns out the POCO had the town distribution system mis-balanced and many people were getting excessive line voltage. Actually I had 130/260V in the house. It took the POCO a few weeks to get it corrected.

#53064 06/20/05 07:26 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 329
I
Member
C-H
Yeah, I forgot all about the Saudis and I suspect 127 exists elswhere in the middle east too. I suspected Mexico as well, but I have heard too many conflicting reports about Mehico to say with any certainty.

[This message has been edited by IanR (edited 06-20-2005).]

#53065 06/20/05 12:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,643
G
Member
The power cruises 123-125 at my house, always has.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,156
Joined: May 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 11
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,296 Are you busy
213,389 Re: Forum
200,330 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5