ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Hello... again!
by HotLine1 - 07/15/24 02:47 PM
90.5(C) Explanatory Material 2023
by gfretwell - 07/15/24 01:19 PM
2023 CEU Course
by renosteinke - 07/12/24 03:26 PM
Counterfeit Code Books?
by Comprehensiveedu - 07/12/24 12:16 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 07/11/24 08:51 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 458 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#49168 03/01/05 12:30 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
E
eswets Offline OP
Member
I didn't really know were to post this, because It is a code question and what you guys do out in the field.
When is it required to use 3 way switches in rooms? Does every entry into the room need a switch for the light?
I am looking at a 8500sft house and the prints do not have any electrical on them. I am trying to mark the print for the electrical. Lots of the rooms have three to four ways to enter. Would you guys install 3or4 way switches at every entry point?

#49169 03/01/05 02:46 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,950
Likes: 34
G
Member
The only place I know of that implys 3 ways are required is on stairways.


Greg Fretwell
#49170 03/01/05 02:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
B
Member
got sencers?

#49171 03/01/05 04:01 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,443
Likes: 3
Member
eswets,
What I would do if you are unsure, is call the people that are going to live in the house.
Get a photo-copy of the house plans and work out with them where they would like everything put.
Regardless of wether there is a plan or not, I do this with every new place I wire.
It just saves time after the place is lined and you also win a few points with the HO too.
Personally, I'd allow for 3-ways in the bedrooms, ask them where they are going to have the head of the bed and put a switch or a dimmer there, there is nothing more annoying than having to get out of bed to turn out the light or turn it on without getting out of bed.
This is not a Code thing, just a matter of convenience.
You should be able to control the lights of any given room from all entrance/exit points, go for 3-Way + Intermediates, if you have to.
Just my 2c worth. [Linked Image]

#49172 03/01/05 07:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 119
S
Member
I agree with Mike...
Quote
there is nothing more annoying than having to get out of bed to turn out the light or turn it on without getting out of bed.

I guess that's why they make "throw" pillows. [Linked Image]

#49173 03/01/05 08:01 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Here in England it used to be fairly common at one time to find a 3-way arrangement for a bedroom light with a pull-cord switch or hanging pendant switch positioned over the bed. It seems to have gone out of fashion though.

Certainly on any large living area, I think it's a good idea to provide a switch at each entry/exit point.

#49174 03/01/05 11:55 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,950
Likes: 34
G
Member
I thought the OP was asking about "code". Certainly it is nice to have a 3way at the bed. I also put quads on both sides of the bed, one a half hot on another 3way. This way I can control the table lamps and overhead from the bed or the door. You don't ever seem to have enough receptacles next to the bed. The cost was minimal but this is my house and I wasn't trying to shave a bid.


Greg Fretwell
#49175 03/01/05 02:09 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Member
If you're competetive-bidding the plan, you're wasting your time. Someone else will bid it with switched outlets and come in way under your bid. Send it back to the GC or architect so everone is bidding on the same plan.

Dave

#49176 03/01/05 02:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
E
eswets Offline OP
Member
I wish the architect would put the electrical on the print. I don't get a to add a design fee. It's not my job to mark up the print. But this is how it goes. I usually always get his work, but he does compare with other companies. Since the prints are empty, he is comparing apple to oragnes.

Actualy, there is some electrical on the print, but swithes are in the middle of the wall, 5 outlets in a hall but one in the bedroom. This is just to get the permits.

#49177 03/01/05 03:44 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline
Member
Sounds like a Big house. What size service?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5