ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Unusual Well Pump Switch Failure
by gfretwell - 10/28/20 12:50 PM
Look at this mess...
by InspectorE - 10/27/20 09:09 PM
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (gfretwell), 22 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
3 way switching #49168 03/01/05 12:30 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
E
eswets Offline OP
Member
I didn't really know were to post this, because It is a code question and what you guys do out in the field.
When is it required to use 3 way switches in rooms? Does every entry into the room need a switch for the light?
I am looking at a 8500sft house and the prints do not have any electrical on them. I am trying to mark the print for the electrical. Lots of the rooms have three to four ways to enter. Would you guys install 3or4 way switches at every entry point?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 3 way switching #49169 03/01/05 02:46 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,535
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
The only place I know of that implys 3 ways are required is on stairways.


Greg Fretwell
Re: 3 way switching #49170 03/01/05 02:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
B
bucketman Offline
Member
got sencers?

Re: 3 way switching #49171 03/01/05 04:01 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,337
Trumpy Offline
Member
eswets,
What I would do if you are unsure, is call the people that are going to live in the house.
Get a photo-copy of the house plans and work out with them where they would like everything put.
Regardless of wether there is a plan or not, I do this with every new place I wire.
It just saves time after the place is lined and you also win a few points with the HO too.
Personally, I'd allow for 3-ways in the bedrooms, ask them where they are going to have the head of the bed and put a switch or a dimmer there, there is nothing more annoying than having to get out of bed to turn out the light or turn it on without getting out of bed.
This is not a Code thing, just a matter of convenience.
You should be able to control the lights of any given room from all entrance/exit points, go for 3-Way + Intermediates, if you have to.
Just my 2c worth. [Linked Image]

Re: 3 way switching #49172 03/01/05 07:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 119
S
safetygem Offline
Member
I agree with Mike...
Quote
there is nothing more annoying than having to get out of bed to turn out the light or turn it on without getting out of bed.

I guess that's why they make "throw" pillows. [Linked Image]

Re: 3 way switching #49173 03/01/05 08:01 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Here in England it used to be fairly common at one time to find a 3-way arrangement for a bedroom light with a pull-cord switch or hanging pendant switch positioned over the bed. It seems to have gone out of fashion though.

Certainly on any large living area, I think it's a good idea to provide a switch at each entry/exit point.

Re: 3 way switching #49174 03/01/05 11:55 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,535
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
I thought the OP was asking about "code". Certainly it is nice to have a 3way at the bed. I also put quads on both sides of the bed, one a half hot on another 3way. This way I can control the table lamps and overhead from the bed or the door. You don't ever seem to have enough receptacles next to the bed. The cost was minimal but this is my house and I wasn't trying to shave a bid.


Greg Fretwell
Re: 3 way switching #49175 03/01/05 02:09 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Dave55 Offline
Member
If you're competetive-bidding the plan, you're wasting your time. Someone else will bid it with switched outlets and come in way under your bid. Send it back to the GC or architect so everone is bidding on the same plan.

Dave

Re: 3 way switching #49176 03/01/05 02:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
E
eswets Offline OP
Member
I wish the architect would put the electrical on the print. I don't get a to add a design fee. It's not my job to mark up the print. But this is how it goes. I usually always get his work, but he does compare with other companies. Since the prints are empty, he is comparing apple to oragnes.

Actualy, there is some electrical on the print, but swithes are in the middle of the wall, 5 outlets in a hall but one in the bedroom. This is just to get the permits.

Re: 3 way switching #49177 03/01/05 03:44 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline
Member
Sounds like a Big house. What size service?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 99
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
271,022 Are you busy
205,030 Re: Forum
193,139 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3