ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by gfretwell. 12/10/18 12:35 AM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Pull out fuse panel?
by Trumpy. 12/06/18 02:12 AM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by rmiell. 11/30/18 01:03 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
tying inverters together? #4198
09/13/01 04:33 PM
09/13/01 04:33 PM
T
tilesetter  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 5
Newbie here. Try not to freak out if this question is waaay off base.
Can I tie two 750 watt inverters together to form a 1500 watt inverter?
I guess it would be like tying a 110/15amp line from 1 house to a 110/15amp line from another house and splicing them together to a single outlet. Would it just short out would I theoretically now have a 110/30amp outlet with both houses splitting the load?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: tying inverters together? #4199
09/13/01 04:47 PM
09/13/01 04:47 PM
P
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
Hello & Welcome:

It depends on the design of the inverters in question.

Some types can be run in parallel, but they will need to be synchronized so that the AC sinewaves are in phase. This generally involves one inverter being "slaved" to the other, so that the outputs are locked together.

The inverters also need to be of a type which will not have their voltage regulation upset by being paralleled in this way.

By the way, trying to tie different branches from different houses together is not a good idea. One problem is that houses on different transformers may well take their high-voltage feed from different phases, so the "hot" lines will be out of phase. There are many other safety concerns as well, so I wouldn't advise anyone to try it.

Re: tying inverters together? #4200
09/13/01 07:01 PM
09/13/01 07:01 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered

https://www.electrical-contractor.net/ubb/Forum7/HTML/000113.html

Cross-posting in multiple categories is quite unnecessary and even annoying.


[This message has been edited by Dspark (edited 09-13-2001).]

Re: tying inverters together? #4201
09/13/01 07:27 PM
09/13/01 07:27 PM
T
tilesetter  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 5
Paul,
These are your basic hardware store inverters they are made by Vector. Not sure if Vector means anything to you but they tend to supply ambulances/fire rescue etc. with inverters. Good quality stuff. Would there be any way I could tell if I could paralell them from the packaging. Any key signs to look for?. The 3000watt inverters go for $700+. The 1500watt for $300+. The 750 watt goes for $80. I'd like to tie at least Two 750's together to share the amp load and power spike at startup of a 1 1/2 horse 110v 20amp motor on a tile cutting saw. I don't have a problem with the hook up, just the initial purchase price.

Re: tying inverters together? #4202
09/13/01 07:48 PM
09/13/01 07:48 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered

I think I can tell from the pricing that they cannot paralleled without modification.

You should splurge and get the 1500 W model.

Re: tying inverters together? #4203
09/13/01 07:55 PM
09/13/01 07:55 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
Just curious, what would you be connecting these up to? And how?

Bill

Re: tying inverters together? #4204
09/13/01 08:29 PM
09/13/01 08:29 PM
T
tilesetter  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 5
dspark,
thats pretty much where i'm going, thanks

Bill,
I was going to hook them into a stardard electrical box w/4 outlets. If you mean as far as the battery power, 12v 1500 CCA semi size battery with a 24hr reserve at 25amp draw. That battery would be directly fed off a 160amp alternator and also tied with 2 1000CCA batteries, for a total of about 3500 CCA and 48 hr reserve at 25amp draw. The inverters would only be used periodically during power down times on the jobsite or repeated overloads from wimpy 50amp breakers when there are 6+ trades on the job trying to pull from one temp pole.
Shawn

Re: tying inverters together? #4205
09/13/01 09:05 PM
09/13/01 09:05 PM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
I doubt that even the 3000 watt inverter would be able to start a 1 1/2hp 120 volt motor. The start current would be 120 to 150+ amps.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: tying inverters together? #4206
09/13/01 09:11 PM
09/13/01 09:11 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
Shawn,

Yes, I did mean the Battery. Just checking to see if you were going to try this with a standard car/van Battery. You seem to be aware of what you need in that aspect.

[Linked Image]
Bill

Re: tying inverters together? #4207
09/13/01 09:43 PM
09/13/01 09:43 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered

I assume he is also pedaling to keep it going. 1500 W won't keep a 20 A load running even if it could start it with a pull string.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,121 Are you busy
189,133 Re: Forum
178,803 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0196 MB (Peak: 1.1971 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-10 07:14:08 UTC