ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 17 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4198 09/13/01 04:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 5
T
Junior Member
Newbie here. Try not to freak out if this question is waaay off base.
Can I tie two 750 watt inverters together to form a 1500 watt inverter?
I guess it would be like tying a 110/15amp line from 1 house to a 110/15amp line from another house and splicing them together to a single outlet. Would it just short out would I theoretically now have a 110/30amp outlet with both houses splitting the load?

#4199 09/13/01 04:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Hello & Welcome:

It depends on the design of the inverters in question.

Some types can be run in parallel, but they will need to be synchronized so that the AC sinewaves are in phase. This generally involves one inverter being "slaved" to the other, so that the outputs are locked together.

The inverters also need to be of a type which will not have their voltage regulation upset by being paralleled in this way.

By the way, trying to tie different branches from different houses together is not a good idea. One problem is that houses on different transformers may well take their high-voltage feed from different phases, so the "hot" lines will be out of phase. There are many other safety concerns as well, so I wouldn't advise anyone to try it.

#4200 09/13/01 07:01 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
https://www.electrical-contractor.net/ubb/Forum7/HTML/000113.html

Cross-posting in multiple categories is quite unnecessary and even annoying.


[This message has been edited by Dspark (edited 09-13-2001).]

#4201 09/13/01 07:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 5
T
Junior Member
Paul,
These are your basic hardware store inverters they are made by Vector. Not sure if Vector means anything to you but they tend to supply ambulances/fire rescue etc. with inverters. Good quality stuff. Would there be any way I could tell if I could paralell them from the packaging. Any key signs to look for?. The 3000watt inverters go for $700+. The 1500watt for $300+. The 750 watt goes for $80. I'd like to tie at least Two 750's together to share the amp load and power spike at startup of a 1 1/2 horse 110v 20amp motor on a tile cutting saw. I don't have a problem with the hook up, just the initial purchase price.

#4202 09/13/01 07:48 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
I think I can tell from the pricing that they cannot paralleled without modification.

You should splurge and get the 1500 W model.

#4203 09/13/01 07:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,081
Likes: 3
Member
Just curious, what would you be connecting these up to? And how?

Bill


Bill
#4204 09/13/01 08:29 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 5
T
Junior Member
dspark,
thats pretty much where i'm going, thanks

Bill,
I was going to hook them into a stardard electrical box w/4 outlets. If you mean as far as the battery power, 12v 1500 CCA semi size battery with a 24hr reserve at 25amp draw. That battery would be directly fed off a 160amp alternator and also tied with 2 1000CCA batteries, for a total of about 3500 CCA and 48 hr reserve at 25amp draw. The inverters would only be used periodically during power down times on the jobsite or repeated overloads from wimpy 50amp breakers when there are 6+ trades on the job trying to pull from one temp pole.
Shawn

#4205 09/13/01 09:05 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
I doubt that even the 3000 watt inverter would be able to start a 1 1/2hp 120 volt motor. The start current would be 120 to 150+ amps.
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
#4206 09/13/01 09:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,081
Likes: 3
Member
Shawn,

Yes, I did mean the Battery. Just checking to see if you were going to try this with a standard car/van Battery. You seem to be aware of what you need in that aspect.

[Linked Image]
Bill


Bill
#4207 09/13/01 09:43 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
I assume he is also pedaling to keep it going. 1500 W won't keep a 20 A load running even if it could start it with a pull string.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 806
Joined: October 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 9
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,561 Are you busy
231,910 Re: Forum
216,545 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5