ECN Forum
Posted By: tilesetter tying inverters together? - 09/13/01 09:33 PM
Newbie here. Try not to freak out if this question is waaay off base.
Can I tie two 750 watt inverters together to form a 1500 watt inverter?
I guess it would be like tying a 110/15amp line from 1 house to a 110/15amp line from another house and splicing them together to a single outlet. Would it just short out would I theoretically now have a 110/30amp outlet with both houses splitting the load?
Posted By: pauluk Re: tying inverters together? - 09/13/01 09:47 PM
Hello & Welcome:

It depends on the design of the inverters in question.

Some types can be run in parallel, but they will need to be synchronized so that the AC sinewaves are in phase. This generally involves one inverter being "slaved" to the other, so that the outputs are locked together.

The inverters also need to be of a type which will not have their voltage regulation upset by being paralleled in this way.

By the way, trying to tie different branches from different houses together is not a good idea. One problem is that houses on different transformers may well take their high-voltage feed from different phases, so the "hot" lines will be out of phase. There are many other safety concerns as well, so I wouldn't advise anyone to try it.
Posted By: Anonymous Re: tying inverters together? - 09/14/01 12:01 AM
https://www.electrical-contractor.net/ubb/Forum7/HTML/000113.html

Cross-posting in multiple categories is quite unnecessary and even annoying.

[This message has been edited by Dspark (edited 09-13-2001).]
Posted By: tilesetter Re: tying inverters together? - 09/14/01 12:27 AM
Paul,