ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 06/18/21 11:07 AM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 3 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#40199 07/14/04 11:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 59
C
Member
Some gas ranges and gas cooking tops require electricity for the igniters. Question: do you hard wire these, or provide a receptacle?
If a receptacle, what is the height above the floor?
Creighton

#40200 07/14/04 11:53 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,437
Member
Creighton,
Every cooktop I've seen with igniters is cord & plug connected... the igniters draw very little energy, as the 25W light in the over also... I typically place the outlet +18"AFF behind the unit...

-Randy

PS... I've come across a couple gas ranges with "browning elements" in them, which are electric. The ones I saw required a dedicated circuit per mfr instructions (1750W 120V).
Just something to keep an eye open for [Linked Image]

#40201 07/14/04 07:44 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 21
C
Member
Creighton, I once had a problem with the range ignitor tripping the GFI I had it on. Inspector said GFI was not needed.

#40202 07/14/04 08:35 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 558
G
Member
We do ours pretty much like Randy.

A recep about 18 or 20" above the floor.


Russell

#40203 07/14/04 10:53 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
I've had requests to mount the receptacles 24" AFF for ease of access.

#40204 07/15/04 02:31 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
Another thing to watch for...
Trim kits, if the range requires any tools to remove, the receptical is no longer accessable, so you should put it a cabinet to the left or right. Some will specify which one.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
#40205 07/15/04 10:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 59
C
Member
Thanks to all. In a nearby jurisdiction an installer wanted to put the receptacle on the wall above the gas range. The only thing we could find in the NEC to prohibit it was 110.11 where it speaks of excessive temperatures.

#40206 07/15/04 05:42 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Member
E57 where is the requirement for the receptacles to be accessible? You can put them behind dishwashers, built in microwaves, trash compactors, etc. Why not a built in stove?

#40207 07/17/04 06:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
F
Junior Member
Never checked it out but the amp draw of

these Igniters seem to be high as they will

not fire if you're having low volatge.Seen

this happen often.

#40208 07/17/04 06:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Member
Accessible (As applied to equipment)Admitting close approach:not gurded by locked doors, elevation or other effective means.

Accessible readily: Capable of being reached quickly for operation, renewal or inspection without requiring those to whom ready access is requisite to climb over or remove obstacles or to resort to portable ladders, chairs, etc.

So according to the above explanation i would consider behind dishwasher,built-in microwave and a compactor not readily accessible.

Edward

[This message has been edited by Edward (edited 07-17-2004).]


Thanks
Edward
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 10
Admin 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,438 Are you busy
213,518 Re: Forum
200,399 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5