ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by HotLine1. 06/13/18 01:50 PM
GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:32 PM
Ketra Recalls Recessed Downlights
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:17 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 06/11/18 07:31 AM
soda can fuse from UK, facebook
by wa2ise. 06/06/18 11:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 30 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Single phase VS three phase generator #219101
01/24/18 06:53 AM
01/24/18 06:53 AM
3
3nd4  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
香港島
Hello,

I'm about to rent an industrial place and the real estate person tells me that a 100a three phase generator generators as many watts as 3 100a single phase generator. Is that correct?

I want to put computers there and need a lot of watts to power them if that helps.

Thanks a lot for your answers.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219102
01/24/18 09:16 AM
01/24/18 09:16 AM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 943
Chicago Illinois USA
Basically.

Generators are rated in KVA.
You will get the same amount of power regardless of how many phases you have.


Ghost307
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219106
01/25/18 01:50 AM
01/25/18 01:50 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,227
Estero,Fl,usa
What kind of computers? Do they need 3P?
If you are just talking about 1P computers, like PCs, don't forget the triplin harmonic problem when you are connecting to 3P wye. The shared neutral in the 3P feeder should be up to 2x the size of ungrounded conductors. Once you get to the single phase (2 wire) branch circuits it is not a problem


Greg Fretwell
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219107
01/25/18 08:05 PM
01/25/18 08:05 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,972
Brick, NJ USA
Seems the OP is in Eastern Asia somewhere. China, Korea, ?

Perhaps he’s talking about a data center?

More info please.


John
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219108
01/26/18 01:32 AM
01/26/18 01:32 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,227
Estero,Fl,usa
If these "computers" are desk tops, the power supplies will be single phase switchers, the same one we have with a different power cord. That is why they use the IEC 13 connector on the PS end. You get the right cord that machine will work just about anywhere on the planet but you still have the harmonic problem.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219111
01/29/18 05:46 AM
01/29/18 05:46 AM
A
andey  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 46
germany
Why does that space have a generator anyways and not a regular connection to the power grid?

OP could plan to build a cryptocurrency mining center too. Just don't forget then, that china thinks about banning mining.

Last edited by andey; 01/29/18 05:47 AM.
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219114
02/01/18 07:14 AM
02/01/18 07:14 AM
L
LongRunner  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 64
Albany, Western Australia
Do the PSUs in your computers have active power factor correction (APFC)? If they do, then there won't be a significant problem with harmonic distortion.

If they don't (or you can't tell for sure), then do as Greg says.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 5
Popular Topics(Views)
247,578 Are you busy
184,909 Re: Forum
174,136 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9858 MB (Peak: 1.1429 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-06-18 21:03:28 UTC