ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
100 Definitions: Accessible 2023
by gfretwell - 07/18/24 04:26 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 07/18/24 01:05 PM
2023 CEU Course
by gfretwell - 07/17/24 01:08 AM
Is this really a thing
by dsk - 07/16/24 01:23 PM
90.5(C) Explanatory Material 2023
by gfretwell - 07/16/24 12:14 PM
Recent Gallery Topics:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 474 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
3
3nd4 Offline OP
New Member
Hello,

I'm about to rent an industrial place and the real estate person tells me that a 100a three phase generator generators as many watts as 3 100a single phase generator. Is that correct?

I want to put computers there and need a lot of watts to power them if that helps.

Thanks a lot for your answers.

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
Likes: 1
G
Member
Basically.

Generators are rated in KVA.
You will get the same amount of power regardless of how many phases you have.


Ghost307
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,954
Likes: 34
G
Member
What kind of computers? Do they need 3P?
If you are just talking about 1P computers, like PCs, don't forget the triplin harmonic problem when you are connecting to 3P wye. The shared neutral in the 3P feeder should be up to 2x the size of ungrounded conductors. Once you get to the single phase (2 wire) branch circuits it is not a problem


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,389
Likes: 7
Member
Seems the OP is in Eastern Asia somewhere. China, Korea, ?

Perhaps he’s talking about a data center?

More info please.


John
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,954
Likes: 34
G
Member
If these "computers" are desk tops, the power supplies will be single phase switchers, the same one we have with a different power cord. That is why they use the IEC 13 connector on the PS end. You get the right cord that machine will work just about anywhere on the planet but you still have the harmonic problem.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 62
A
Member
Why does that space have a generator anyways and not a regular connection to the power grid?

OP could plan to build a cryptocurrency mining center too. Just don't forget then, that china thinks about banning mining.

Last edited by andey; 01/29/18 05:47 AM.
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 80
L
Member
Do the PSUs in your computers have active power factor correction (APFC)? If they do, then there won't be a significant problem with harmonic distortion.

If they don't (or you can't tell for sure), then do as Greg says.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5