ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
FPE in Germany
by andey - 10/14/19 10:14 AM
Fuse blower plug?
by gfretwell - 10/13/19 03:23 PM
Power factor and transformer efficiency
by TeslaEdison - 10/13/19 04:05 AM
Help with aging employee advice.
by gfretwell - 10/12/19 01:17 PM
Permit Snafus...AHJs and Contractors Jump in
by HotLine1 - 10/10/19 07:35 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Single phase VS three phase generator #219101 01/24/18 06:53 AM
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
3
3nd4 Offline OP
New Member
Hello,

I'm about to rent an industrial place and the real estate person tells me that a 100a three phase generator generators as many watts as 3 100a single phase generator. Is that correct?

I want to put computers there and need a lot of watts to power them if that helps.

Thanks a lot for your answers.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219102 01/24/18 09:16 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
Basically.

Generators are rated in KVA.
You will get the same amount of power regardless of how many phases you have.


Ghost307
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219106 01/25/18 01:50 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,408
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
What kind of computers? Do they need 3P?
If you are just talking about 1P computers, like PCs, don't forget the triplin harmonic problem when you are connecting to 3P wye. The shared neutral in the 3P feeder should be up to 2x the size of ungrounded conductors. Once you get to the single phase (2 wire) branch circuits it is not a problem


Greg Fretwell
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219107 01/25/18 08:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,121
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Seems the OP is in Eastern Asia somewhere. China, Korea, ?

Perhaps he’s talking about a data center?

More info please.


John
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219108 01/26/18 01:32 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,408
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
If these "computers" are desk tops, the power supplies will be single phase switchers, the same one we have with a different power cord. That is why they use the IEC 13 connector on the PS end. You get the right cord that machine will work just about anywhere on the planet but you still have the harmonic problem.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219111 01/29/18 05:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 53
A
andey Offline
Member
Why does that space have a generator anyways and not a regular connection to the power grid?

OP could plan to build a cryptocurrency mining center too. Just don't forget then, that china thinks about banning mining.

Last edited by andey; 01/29/18 05:47 AM.
Re: Single phase VS three phase generator [Re: 3nd4] #219114 02/01/18 07:14 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 65
L
LongRunner Offline
Member
Do the PSUs in your computers have active power factor correction (APFC)? If they do, then there won't be a significant problem with harmonic distortion.

If they don't (or you can't tell for sure), then do as Greg says.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
259,508 Are you busy
194,893 Re: Forum
184,331 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3