ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 08/31/21 04:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 31 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 31
Member
A customer of mine has an existing in ground pool. Was there when he bought the house. Recently had an inspection by AHJ for a "Rental Permit" renewal.

Town inspector says it must be GFCI protected.

Problem: It is not cord and plug to pump. There is a sub-panel in basement. 2 pole 240v 15amp breaker. Goes to a switch located at cement slab where pump sits (it is at least more than 6 feet from pool water edge). 12/2 with ground from panel to switch. The 240v pump is hard-wired directly to box where switch is and the pump is bonded to ground. First off the switch is a regular switch and a regular switch cover plate. Should be water proof switch. That part is not too hard to accomplish. But inspector says the circuit must be GFCI protected. How do you protect a 240v pump with a 12/2 wire from the breaker box. My knowledge tells me you need a neutral in order for a GFCI to even function. Am I mmissing something here? Looks like the pump/pool is about 12 years old. Is the pump double insulated; does that make it safe? Normally don't do pool installtions.

Thanks for any suggestions and hints.








Last edited by AFJES; 08/30/13 03:27 PM.
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
in 2011 680.21(C) is pretty unambiguous
Quote
(C) GFCI Protection. Outlets supplying pool pump motors
connected to single-phase, 120 volt through 240 volt branch
circuits, rated 15 or 20 amperes, whether by receptacle or by
direct connection, shall be provided with ground-fault circuit interrupter
protection for personnel.



Not a lot of wiggle room

They make 2 pole GFCI breakers for most modern panels and they will work on a L/L load


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,279
Likes: 3
Member
As Greg said, NO wiggle room at all

2 pole GFI CBs are available.

You may have to install a new panel or a sun if you can't get a CB


John
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 31
Member
Sorry for the long delay in my response.

I appreciate your answers. Learned something new. A two pole GFCI breaker will function when no neutral load is connected as long as the pigtail is connected to the neutral bar. Replaced the existing FPE subpanel with anew Square D and new GFCI breaker 240v 15amp and it worked like a charm and passed inspection. I was always taught that you needed the neutral load for them to work properly; oh well learn something new.

Thanks for your time in answering my post


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
FGBY 2
Popular Topics(Views)
282,917 Are you busy
216,686 Re: Forum
203,109 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5