ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Fuse blower plug?
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:50 PM
100 year old Light Bulb
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:26 PM
Forum Updates Coming Soon.
by Admin - 08/18/19 01:55 PM
Anybody Remember this?
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 09:07 PM
1897 paper on 110-220 incandescent lamps
by ghost307 - 08/15/19 10:31 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 11 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
seimans breaker / Bryant panel #209173 03/12/13 06:04 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
W
William Offline OP
New Member
will a seimens breaker fit in a bryant panel


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209175 03/12/13 06:28 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,382
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I imagine it "fits" OK the question is whether it is classified or listed on the label in the box.

I think the BR breakers from Cutler Hammer are the ones you can use. I seem to remember they bought Bryant (hence the BR) but keeping track of who bought whom is as hard as remembering which bank used to be which.


Greg Fretwell
Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209178 03/13/13 07:58 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 883
N
NORCAL Offline
Member
Originally Posted by William
will a seimens breaker fit in a bryant panel



Will it fit? Yes, but doubt it is UL classified for Bryant, use a Cutler-Hammer BR as they are the successor of Bryant/Westinghouse loadcenters.
Because of mergers of electrical equipment manufacturers it can be hard to know which breaker fits what panel.

Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209182 03/13/13 09:28 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,105
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Norcal:
You stole my thunder!! Comments heard over time by a few 'lectricians like 'Sir...it has to be OK, it fits on the buss'; 'GE breakers fit a lot of panels, so my boss said....'; 'Murry, Bryant, Challenger, T&B, Crouse Hinds, heck they all look the same'.

The classic used to be the guys who field modified the various rejection tabs, or butched the plastic to get the buss to fit,



John
Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209201 03/15/13 01:47 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Lostazhell Offline
Member
Siemens/Murray are now what was Arrow Hart, Gould, ITE, Crouse Hinds, and IIRC, Sears "Homart" brand (I think was a relabeled Murray panel, someone correct me if I'm wrong) Cutler Hammer (or EATON as the newer breakers are now showing exclusively) took over Bryant, Westinghouse and one other brand I think..

I've always wondered why All the above manufacturers have designed their breakers to fit GE THQP panels with the t slot in the bottom. GE is the only company I've ever found where this would be needed

Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209207 03/15/13 03:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Tesla Offline
Member
Lost...

There's an a n c i e n t bus out there... probably one of the very first to rack up circuit breakers... and it has the bussing rotated 90 degrees.

So, I suspect that you're looking at a legacy standard that's easy to fit into designs -- and which is off patent, to boot.


Last edited by Tesla; 03/15/13 03:06 AM.

Tesla
Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209255 03/19/13 05:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
mikesh Offline
Member
There are breakers made by 1 manufacturer that are also approved as a replacement for breakers in other manufacturer panels. Unfortuneately I don't have a defined list as it is fairly extensive in the 15 and 20 amp sizes.

There are the legacy breakers too so Eaton covers westinghouse, nova, and Bryant panels.

Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209261 03/20/13 09:22 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
harold endean Offline
Member
Mike,

I thought that the breaker you are talking about is the Bryant BR type breakers. I think they were listed for many panels. The were the typical square black breaker that fits, Seimans, Bryant, GE, Square D home style.

Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209264 03/20/13 10:24 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,280
electure Offline
Member

Cutler Hammer has their "Classified" series of circuit breakers, that are designed to replace the 1" width SqD Homeline, Crouse Hinds, GE, Siemens/Murray, and T&B breakers.

They also produce a 3/4" version, designed to replace the SqD QO series.

https://www.platt.com/CutSheets/Eaton%20Distribution/Breakers-ClassifiedType.pdf

Note that they aren't UL listed, but UL Classified.

I think the BR is only listed for use in Cutler Hammer panels.


.





Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209267 03/20/13 10:53 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
They do say that they are UL listed at the bottom of page 4, but that seems to be a bit "buried", if you know what I mean. I'd think that they'd be boasting the word all over the place if this really was the case. They are going out of their way to be defensive, which to me is a case of 'thou dost protest too much'.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,431
Joined: February 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 21
GeneSF 8
Popular Topics(Views)
257,889 Are you busy
193,624 Re: Forum
183,242 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3