ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by Yoopersup. 08/22/17 12:08 PM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,101 Are you busy
175,714 Re: Forum
167,926 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 66 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#209173 - 03/12/13 06:04 PM seimans breaker / Bryant panel  
William  Offline
New Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
tennessee
will a seimens breaker fit in a bryant panel



Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#209175 - 03/12/13 06:28 PM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,104
Estero,Fl,usa
I imagine it "fits" OK the question is whether it is classified or listed on the label in the box.

I think the BR breakers from Cutler Hammer are the ones you can use. I seem to remember they bought Bryant (hence the BR) but keeping track of who bought whom is as hard as remembering which bank used to be which.


Greg Fretwell

#209178 - 03/13/13 07:58 AM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 872
Originally Posted by William
will a seimens breaker fit in a bryant panel



Will it fit? Yes, but doubt it is UL classified for Bryant, use a Cutler-Hammer BR as they are the successor of Bryant/Westinghouse loadcenters.
Because of mergers of electrical equipment manufacturers it can be hard to know which breaker fits what panel.


#209182 - 03/13/13 09:28 PM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,858
Brick, NJ USA
Norcal:
You stole my thunder!! Comments heard over time by a few 'lectricians like 'Sir...it has to be OK, it fits on the buss'; 'GE breakers fit a lot of panels, so my boss said....'; 'Murry, Bryant, Challenger, T&B, Crouse Hinds, heck they all look the same'.

The classic used to be the guys who field modified the various rejection tabs, or butched the plastic to get the buss to fit,



John

#209201 - 03/15/13 01:47 AM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
Lostazhell  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Or...
Siemens/Murray are now what was Arrow Hart, Gould, ITE, Crouse Hinds, and IIRC, Sears "Homart" brand (I think was a relabeled Murray panel, someone correct me if I'm wrong) Cutler Hammer (or EATON as the newer breakers are now showing exclusively) took over Bryant, Westinghouse and one other brand I think..

I've always wondered why All the above manufacturers have designed their breakers to fit GE THQP panels with the t slot in the bottom. GE is the only company I've ever found where this would be needed


#209207 - 03/15/13 03:06 AM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
Lost...

There's an a n c i e n t bus out there... probably one of the very first to rack up circuit breakers... and it has the bussing rotated 90 degrees.

So, I suspect that you're looking at a legacy standard that's easy to fit into designs -- and which is off patent, to boot.


Last edited by Tesla; 03/15/13 03:06 AM.

Tesla

#209255 - 03/19/13 05:59 PM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
There are breakers made by 1 manufacturer that are also approved as a replacement for breakers in other manufacturer panels. Unfortuneately I don't have a defined list as it is fairly extensive in the 15 and 20 amp sizes.

There are the legacy breakers too so Eaton covers westinghouse, nova, and Bryant panels.


#209261 - 03/20/13 09:22 AM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
Mike,

I thought that the breaker you are talking about is the Bryant BR type breakers. I think they were listed for many panels. The were the typical square black breaker that fits, Seimans, Bryant, GE, Square D home style.


#209264 - 03/20/13 10:24 AM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
electure  Offline


Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,260
Fullerton, CA USA

Cutler Hammer has their "Classified" series of circuit breakers, that are designed to replace the 1" width SqD Homeline, Crouse Hinds, GE, Siemens/Murray, and T&B breakers.

They also produce a 3/4" version, designed to replace the SqD QO series.

https://www.platt.com/CutSheets/Eaton%20Distribution/Breakers-ClassifiedType.pdf

Note that they aren't UL listed, but UL Classified.

I think the BR is only listed for use in Cutler Hammer panels.


.






#209267 - 03/20/13 10:53 AM Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William]  
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
They do say that they are UL listed at the bottom of page 4, but that seems to be a bit "buried", if you know what I mean. I'd think that they'd be boasting the word all over the place if this really was the case. They are going out of their way to be defensive, which to me is a case of 'thou dost protest too much'.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."


Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8121 MB (Peak: 0.9951 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-22 22:27:09 UTC