ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by sabrown. 10/17/18 05:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by dsk. 10/15/18 02:36 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (cableguy619), 24 guests, and 31 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
seimans breaker / Bryant panel #209173
03/12/13 06:04 PM
03/12/13 06:04 PM
W
William  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
tennessee
will a seimens breaker fit in a bryant panel


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209175
03/12/13 06:28 PM
03/12/13 06:28 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,298
Estero,Fl,usa
I imagine it "fits" OK the question is whether it is classified or listed on the label in the box.

I think the BR breakers from Cutler Hammer are the ones you can use. I seem to remember they bought Bryant (hence the BR) but keeping track of who bought whom is as hard as remembering which bank used to be which.


Greg Fretwell
Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209178
03/13/13 07:58 AM
03/13/13 07:58 AM
N
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 882
Originally Posted by William
will a seimens breaker fit in a bryant panel



Will it fit? Yes, but doubt it is UL classified for Bryant, use a Cutler-Hammer BR as they are the successor of Bryant/Westinghouse loadcenters.
Because of mergers of electrical equipment manufacturers it can be hard to know which breaker fits what panel.

Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209182
03/13/13 09:28 PM
03/13/13 09:28 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,036
Brick, NJ USA
Norcal:
You stole my thunder!! Comments heard over time by a few 'lectricians like 'Sir...it has to be OK, it fits on the buss'; 'GE breakers fit a lot of panels, so my boss said....'; 'Murry, Bryant, Challenger, T&B, Crouse Hinds, heck they all look the same'.

The classic used to be the guys who field modified the various rejection tabs, or butched the plastic to get the buss to fit,



John
Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209201
03/15/13 01:47 AM
03/15/13 01:47 AM
Lostazhell  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Or...
Siemens/Murray are now what was Arrow Hart, Gould, ITE, Crouse Hinds, and IIRC, Sears "Homart" brand (I think was a relabeled Murray panel, someone correct me if I'm wrong) Cutler Hammer (or EATON as the newer breakers are now showing exclusively) took over Bryant, Westinghouse and one other brand I think..

I've always wondered why All the above manufacturers have designed their breakers to fit GE THQP panels with the t slot in the bottom. GE is the only company I've ever found where this would be needed

Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209207
03/15/13 03:06 AM
03/15/13 03:06 AM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
Lost...

There's an a n c i e n t bus out there... probably one of the very first to rack up circuit breakers... and it has the bussing rotated 90 degrees.

So, I suspect that you're looking at a legacy standard that's easy to fit into designs -- and which is off patent, to boot.


Last edited by Tesla; 03/15/13 03:06 AM.

Tesla
Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209255
03/19/13 05:59 PM
03/19/13 05:59 PM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
There are breakers made by 1 manufacturer that are also approved as a replacement for breakers in other manufacturer panels. Unfortuneately I don't have a defined list as it is fairly extensive in the 15 and 20 amp sizes.

There are the legacy breakers too so Eaton covers westinghouse, nova, and Bryant panels.

Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209261
03/20/13 09:22 AM
03/20/13 09:22 AM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
Mike,

I thought that the breaker you are talking about is the Bryant BR type breakers. I think they were listed for many panels. The were the typical square black breaker that fits, Seimans, Bryant, GE, Square D home style.

Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209264
03/20/13 10:24 AM
03/20/13 10:24 AM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,274
Fullerton, CA USA

Cutler Hammer has their "Classified" series of circuit breakers, that are designed to replace the 1" width SqD Homeline, Crouse Hinds, GE, Siemens/Murray, and T&B breakers.

They also produce a 3/4" version, designed to replace the SqD QO series.

https://www.platt.com/CutSheets/Eaton%20Distribution/Breakers-ClassifiedType.pdf

Note that they aren't UL listed, but UL Classified.

I think the BR is only listed for use in Cutler Hammer panels.


.





Re: seimans breaker / Bryant panel [Re: William] #209267
03/20/13 10:53 AM
03/20/13 10:53 AM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
They do say that they are UL listed at the bottom of page 4, but that seems to be a bit "buried", if you know what I mean. I'd think that they'd be boasting the word all over the place if this really was the case. They are going out of their way to be defensive, which to me is a case of 'thou dost protest too much'.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,403 Are you busy
188,014 Re: Forum
177,583 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0128 MB (Peak: 1.1916 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-19 00:34:17 UTC