ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Underground phone and coax depth?
by gfretwell - 02/08/23 12:21 AM
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 14 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
electure #182594 12/03/08 07:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
S
Sandro Offline OP
Member
Tried hooking in the pressure switch control at different points in the control circuit. Same issue as o.p.

This was a customer supplied push button starter. I normally don't use these types for air compressors, and thought there would be a simple way without extensive rewiring, or adding extra parts/contacts/switches to keep the push buttons functional.

As others above have noted, the off/auto switch is what we normally use and best.




Sandro #182600 12/03/08 09:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 827
J
Member
If you need to keep your 2 buttons, the cheapest way that will work safely is to add 1, DPDT control relay.
1.) Wire "L" or "Hi" to N.C. "OFF" button to N.O. "ON" Button to relay coil to OLs to "N" or "Lo"
2.) Wire relay N.O. contact in parallel with the "ON" button. (Holding contact for the control ckt.)
3.) Wire "L" or "Hi" to other N.O. relay contact to P-switch with differential to contactor coil. (Normal compressor cycling when control circuit is active.
Add any E-stop switches to Line 1. Just about any starter assembly should have the volume to add a control relay. I can do the ladders up on CADD if you want.
Joe

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
I don't think you can do this with a 3 wire stop/start unless you add a relay.

A simple toggle switch in a handy box will do to switch the control circuit. It isn't a lot of money.

twh #182602 12/04/08 12:17 AM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 827
J
Member
Here is the partial ladder with the rotary selector switch and indicator.
Joe

Attached Images
COMPCTL1.JPG
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 827
J
Member
Option 2 partial ladder, using a control relay to keep existing buttons.
Joe

Attached Images
COMPCTL2.JPG
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
BigB 2
Popular Topics(Views)
303,274 Are you busy
232,242 Re: Forum
216,993 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5