ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
100 Definitions: Accessible 2023
by gfretwell - 07/18/24 04:26 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 07/18/24 01:05 PM
2023 CEU Course
by gfretwell - 07/17/24 01:08 AM
Is this really a thing
by dsk - 07/16/24 01:23 PM
90.5(C) Explanatory Material 2023
by gfretwell - 07/16/24 12:14 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 496 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#179944 08/06/08 08:50 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
M
Member
am in the process of having 30 furnaces changed out in some rental units and am in a bit of a disagreement with the HVAC guys about the disconnects. While we both agree that one is required, they want to remove the existing SSU's and just install a switch. I would like to leave the SSU's intact, but see the point that an accessible switch serves the purpose. So, I figured I would pose this question to you guys and see what your opinions and/or facts are.

Thanks in advance


"We can do it, you can't help" said my son to the HD guy
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Please forgive me, but what do you mean by the acronym "SSU"?


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 368
M
Member
Service/safety/switched shut-off unit?

I wonder if that is another name for disconnect?

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
M
Member
SSU/SSY....the terminology escapes me at the moment, but it is the switch used as a disconnect that also incorporates a fuse block.


"We can do it, you can't help" said my son to the HD guy
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Are these gas/oil units or electric? If gas/oil, then a standard switch will suffice. The existing disconnects can be reused, but I'd spend the extra couple of bucks and replace it with a new one. If it it an electric/heat pump unit, then that depends upon the manufacturer's name plate ratings as to whether a fused disconnect is required or not.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
A
Member
SSU is a switch and Edison base fuse holder on a handy box cover, manufactured by Bussman.
A switch only would work for the furnace.
The advantage of the SSU is that a T rated, time delay fuse with a setting close to the rating of the motor can be used to aford better protection than the branch circuit over current device.
I used one on my water well, going from a 20 amp circuit breaker to a time delay 8 amp fuse at the pump. It has been in service this way for over 25 years. The fuses cost about $ 3.oo each now but that is still a lot cheaper than a new pump motor.


Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,389
Likes: 7
Member
OK, now that Alan explained that one; I have not seen one of those in 20 years. Didn't know that Bussmann still made them!

Alan: Is it a true Edison base fuse, or a Fusestat?



John

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5