ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving
by sabrown - 11/25/20 02:00 PM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:52 PM
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 11/25/20 02:56 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Lostazhell - 11/21/20 04:17 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (NJwirenut), 20 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Furnace disconnects #179944 08/06/08 07:50 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
M
M_Grabill Offline OP
Member
am in the process of having 30 furnaces changed out in some rental units and am in a bit of a disagreement with the HVAC guys about the disconnects. While we both agree that one is required, they want to remove the existing SSU's and just install a switch. I would like to leave the SSU's intact, but see the point that an accessible switch serves the purpose. So, I figured I would pose this question to you guys and see what your opinions and/or facts are.

Thanks in advance


"We can do it, you can't help" said my son to the HD guy
Building Codes & Related References
Re: Furnace disconnects [Re: M_Grabill] #179952 08/06/08 09:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
Please forgive me, but what do you mean by the acronym "SSU"?


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Furnace disconnects [Re: EV607797] #179953 08/07/08 12:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 358
M
mbhydro Offline
Member
Service/safety/switched shut-off unit?

I wonder if that is another name for disconnect?

Re: Furnace disconnects [Re: mbhydro] #179973 08/07/08 05:53 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
M
M_Grabill Offline OP
Member
SSU/SSY....the terminology escapes me at the moment, but it is the switch used as a disconnect that also incorporates a fuse block.


"We can do it, you can't help" said my son to the HD guy
Re: Furnace disconnects [Re: M_Grabill] #179975 08/07/08 06:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
Are these gas/oil units or electric? If gas/oil, then a standard switch will suffice. The existing disconnects can be reused, but I'd spend the extra couple of bucks and replace it with a new one. If it it an electric/heat pump unit, then that depends upon the manufacturer's name plate ratings as to whether a fused disconnect is required or not.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Furnace disconnects [Re: EV607797] #180307 08/21/08 09:57 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
A
Alan Nadon Offline
Member
SSU is a switch and Edison base fuse holder on a handy box cover, manufactured by Bussman.
A switch only would work for the furnace.
The advantage of the SSU is that a T rated, time delay fuse with a setting close to the rating of the motor can be used to aford better protection than the branch circuit over current device.
I used one on my water well, going from a 20 amp circuit breaker to a time delay 8 amp fuse at the pump. It has been in service this way for over 25 years. The fuses cost about $ 3.oo each now but that is still a lot cheaper than a new pump motor.


Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.
Re: Furnace disconnects [Re: Alan Nadon] #180323 08/21/08 07:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,216
HotLine1 Offline
Member
OK, now that Alan explained that one; I have not seen one of those in 20 years. Didn't know that Bussmann still made them!

Alan: Is it a true Edison base fuse, or a Fusestat?



John

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,948 Are you busy
205,833 Re: Forum
193,912 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3