ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
12 Lead Motor Connection Weird
by emolatur - 01/19/22 02:40 PM
Any women electricians here?
by gfretwell - 01/17/22 01:44 PM
Well There's your problem.
by gfretwell - 01/08/22 12:17 AM
Happy New Year!!
by HotLine1 - 01/04/22 09:50 AM
Sangamo s309.2
by Robski - 12/31/21 04:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 47 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#179944 08/06/08 07:50 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
M
Member
am in the process of having 30 furnaces changed out in some rental units and am in a bit of a disagreement with the HVAC guys about the disconnects. While we both agree that one is required, they want to remove the existing SSU's and just install a switch. I would like to leave the SSU's intact, but see the point that an accessible switch serves the purpose. So, I figured I would pose this question to you guys and see what your opinions and/or facts are.

Thanks in advance


"We can do it, you can't help" said my son to the HD guy
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Please forgive me, but what do you mean by the acronym "SSU"?


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 368
M
Member
Service/safety/switched shut-off unit?

I wonder if that is another name for disconnect?

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
M
Member
SSU/SSY....the terminology escapes me at the moment, but it is the switch used as a disconnect that also incorporates a fuse block.


"We can do it, you can't help" said my son to the HD guy
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Are these gas/oil units or electric? If gas/oil, then a standard switch will suffice. The existing disconnects can be reused, but I'd spend the extra couple of bucks and replace it with a new one. If it it an electric/heat pump unit, then that depends upon the manufacturer's name plate ratings as to whether a fused disconnect is required or not.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
A
Member
SSU is a switch and Edison base fuse holder on a handy box cover, manufactured by Bussman.
A switch only would work for the furnace.
The advantage of the SSU is that a T rated, time delay fuse with a setting close to the rating of the motor can be used to aford better protection than the branch circuit over current device.
I used one on my water well, going from a 20 amp circuit breaker to a time delay 8 amp fuse at the pump. It has been in service this way for over 25 years. The fuses cost about $ 3.oo each now but that is still a lot cheaper than a new pump motor.


Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,288
Likes: 4
Member
OK, now that Alan explained that one; I have not seen one of those in 20 years. Didn't know that Bussmann still made them!

Alan: Is it a true Edison base fuse, or a Fusestat?



John

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Top Posters(30 Days)
NORCAL 3
grich 1
Popular Topics(Views)
288,000 Are you busy
220,122 Re: Forum
206,117 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5