ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by BigB. 08/17/18 11:52 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
RG6 as component cable #173849
01/20/08 08:26 PM
01/20/08 08:26 PM
D
drum  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
USA
I have been buying bundled RGB cable for some HDTV installs which has 6 mini coax and 2 cat5 wires inside. Most are done HDMI. It is handy but am thinking if I need a couple extra component cables RG6 quad sheild with RCA ends on it would work the same. Any opinions?

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: drum] #173852
01/20/08 09:43 PM
01/20/08 09:43 PM
TOOL_5150  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Bay Area
Yes it works. Component cable has an impedance of 75 ohms and so does RG6. I have crimped RCA's on a triplex of rg6 and it worked well. I try to keep them the same length - Im not sure it really makes any difference, But I do know there is a horizontal and vertical sync that is transmitted through the cables.


~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: TOOL_5150] #173858
01/20/08 11:41 PM
01/20/08 11:41 PM
C
classicsat  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
Rarely is RGBHV used anymore (in consumer circles anyhow), except for computer monitors.

For consumer level Component video, sync is part of the Y signal (green plug). RGB has the sync on green.

Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: classicsat] #173956
01/23/08 06:25 PM
01/23/08 06:25 PM
B
brianl703  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 166
Manassas, VA
All the Costco stores I've been to have their demo TVs connected with RG6 component cables. Looks like they use Snap N Seal RCA connectors or some other similar type of compression connector.

I guess you could use RCA to F adapters instead of RCA connectors.

Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: brianl703] #174109
01/26/08 09:45 PM
01/26/08 09:45 PM
S
sparks_n_shorts  Offline
New Member
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Norman, OK
rg6 does work, but be careful with the F to RCA connectors. Sometimes the added length makes it hard to fit behind a wall mounted plasma. Most companies make compression fittings in RCA for RG6.

Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: sparks_n_shorts] #174138
01/27/08 01:39 PM
01/27/08 01:39 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
They sell made up cables with one end "right angle" so they do fine in the close quarters behind a wall mounted TV. I doubt you could build a set for what they cost if your time is worth anything.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 6,997
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,599 Are you busy
186,333 Re: Forum
175,791 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9806 MB (Peak: 1.1278 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-18 08:25:18 UTC