ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Southwire Recalls Electrical Outlet Boxes
by Admin - 08/21/19 06:39 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:50 PM
100 year old Light Bulb
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:26 PM
Forum Updates Coming Soon.
by Admin - 08/18/19 01:55 PM
Anybody Remember this?
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 09:07 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 7 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
RG6 as component cable #173849 01/20/08 08:26 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
D
drum Offline OP
Member
I have been buying bundled RGB cable for some HDTV installs which has 6 mini coax and 2 cat5 wires inside. Most are done HDMI. It is handy but am thinking if I need a couple extra component cables RG6 quad sheild with RCA ends on it would work the same. Any opinions?

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: drum] #173852 01/20/08 09:43 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
TOOL_5150 Offline
Member
Yes it works. Component cable has an impedance of 75 ohms and so does RG6. I have crimped RCA's on a triplex of rg6 and it worked well. I try to keep them the same length - Im not sure it really makes any difference, But I do know there is a horizontal and vertical sync that is transmitted through the cables.


~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: TOOL_5150] #173858 01/20/08 11:41 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
C
classicsat Offline
Member
Rarely is RGBHV used anymore (in consumer circles anyhow), except for computer monitors.

For consumer level Component video, sync is part of the Y signal (green plug). RGB has the sync on green.

Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: classicsat] #173956 01/23/08 06:25 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 166
B
brianl703 Offline
Member
All the Costco stores I've been to have their demo TVs connected with RG6 component cables. Looks like they use Snap N Seal RCA connectors or some other similar type of compression connector.

I guess you could use RCA to F adapters instead of RCA connectors.

Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: brianl703] #174109 01/26/08 09:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
S
sparks_n_shorts Offline
New Member
rg6 does work, but be careful with the F to RCA connectors. Sometimes the added length makes it hard to fit behind a wall mounted plasma. Most companies make compression fittings in RCA for RG6.

Re: RG6 as component cable [Re: sparks_n_shorts] #174138 01/27/08 01:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,382
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
They sell made up cables with one end "right angle" so they do fine in the close quarters behind a wall mounted TV. I doubt you could build a set for what they cost if your time is worth anything.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 23
GeneSF 8
Popular Topics(Views)
257,892 Are you busy
193,628 Re: Forum
183,248 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3