ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
nec 110.3 (B)
by gfretwell - 09/22/21 11:11 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 43 guests, and 25 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#173535 01/11/08 10:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,437
Member
What could people be thinking??? confused This is for a chemical pump that is plugged in 24/7... the upper socket is burnt, the reset is popped out and there's still power to the outlets... Oh BTW.. The cover is upside down!

[Linked Image from electricalphotos.com]

problem solved... (No the GFI isn't SecurE, it's Leviton wink )
[Linked Image from electricalphotos.com]

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
T
Member
You still have a support issue IMO.

Dave

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 391
B
Member
I agree with the support problem [314.23(F)]. But because it's easy to cast stones without offering solutions, in the future what about doing something like driving a piece of strut into the earth directly behind the box and bolting to that?

Otherwise, what you've done is a vast improvement over what was there initially.

-John

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 202
3
Member
If this pump is running 24/7 (I'm assuming a permenant installation) wouldn't a cable gland with the flex entering into an isolating switch be a better solutoin than a plug & socket?

(Here you'd get away with no RCD/GCGI so a cost saving would also be realised)

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
I don't really understand an installation with a Class I, Division 1 fitting and a GFCI connected to each other.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 680
W
Member
Originally Posted by resqcapt19
I don't really understand an installation with a Class I, Division 1 fitting and a GFCI connected to each other.
Don

I see that all the time, well not the GFCI but C1D1 fittings where it makes little sense. I even do it sometimes as thats what I carry on my truck smile

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Originally Posted by 32VAC
If this pump is running 24/7 (I'm assuming a permenant installation) wouldn't a cable gland with the flex entering into an isolating switch be a better solution than a plug & socket?


The NEC is pretty restrictive about using cables or cords without plugs.

In this case another option might be to use a flexible conduit but then a disconnecting switch would likely be required.



Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,437
Member
Quote
I see that all the time, well not the GFCI but C1D1 fittings where it makes little sense. I even do it sometimes as thats what I carry on my truck smile



That's pretty much what happened here IMO, A GUAG or and EAJ box is way more common to have out here than a stock of Bell boxes... This is on top of a hill outside of class 1, div 1 near a lease water tank.

When I came across this, I was only on order to get rid of the General Protecht (or however they spelled it) GFCI's, and kinda stumbled upon this one (35 minutes before quitting time on Friday laugh ) I can install a piece of channel on the back of this and set it in fence post concrete, but they won't pay me OT to do that wink

As far as flexing, the Company we do the work for doesn't like these hardwired for reasons that if the pump dies in the middle of the night, they have to call us out to change it, vs. just plugging in a new pump. NTM these pumps just sit on the side of the tank with a couple hoses.(I'll get a pic when I go back)

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Member
Originally Posted by iwire
Originally Posted by 32VAC
If this pump is running 24/7 (I'm assuming a permenant installation) wouldn't a cable gland with the flex entering into an isolating switch be a better solution than a plug & socket?


The NEC is pretty restrictive about using cables or cords without plugs.

In this case another option might be to use a flexible conduit but then a disconnecting switch would likely be required.


Bob,
To a degree, I think that that was what Darren (32VAC) was talking about, as long as the isolator/disconnect can be locked open (OFF), I can't really see what the issue is.
Personally, I hate the idea of plugs and sockets being used outdoors, no matter how well they are "weather-protected" or even if they have GFCI protection on them, after all, how often are these devices tested?.
Just my $0.02 worth.

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Mike, for the most part the NEC does not allow 'hard wiring' rubber cords. If we choose to use rubber cord in most instances a plug and receptacle is required.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
timmp
timmp
Leo, IN, USA
Posts: 27
Joined: June 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
283,074 Are you busy
216,812 Re: Forum
203,189 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5