ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
239,983 Are you busy
175,581 Re: Forum
167,831 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 61 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#168273 - 08/30/07 08:54 PM My screen was sideways!  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 785
Chicago, Il.
I signed onto my XP machine last weekend and the screen was sideways, with the top on the right side. i had never seen such a thing and wondered if any malware or virus could be the cause. I called my co-worker and certified Windows expert friend. He had never heard of this but said he would make some calls. I got off the phone and onto Google and hit pay dirt. I learned that with XP, Ctrl+Alt+ an arrow key, flips the screen any way you want it. I called my friend to let him know and asked if he thought it would work on Vista or 2000.

Now this is the part that has me really confused. It didn't work on a single machine at work, including the XP machines. I checked with a few others who run XP and no luck there either. So now I would like to know how many of you can flip your screens this way??? If you can, what OS do you use? Might this be a command that only works with specific video cards and/or drivers?
Joe


Tools for Electricians:

#168274 - 08/30/07 09:36 PM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: JoeTestingEngr]  
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
Joe i did try that with the Xp computer here also it did work as you described but really IMO i will like to give you a fair warning it can get pretty hard with some veido driver but other side effects i am not sure.

that something i know now but if someone else use the computer with the veido get on " sideway " it really can get someone else spooked up

Merci , Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


#168275 - 08/30/07 09:56 PM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: frenchelectrican]  
Jim M  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 457
Chestertown, MD, USA
Darn if it doesn't work. Kind of neat.

Windows XP, SP2

Sound like a good prank to play on co-workers. Not that I would be involved in any pranks. Wink.


#168283 - 08/31/07 05:00 AM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: Jim M]  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Originally Posted by Jim M
Sound like a good prank to play on co-workers. Not that I would be involved in any pranks. Wink.


If I recall you can also make the screen backward so you would need to look at it in a mirror to see it 'normal'.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#168285 - 08/31/07 06:07 AM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: Jim M]  
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
Originally Posted by Jim M
Sound like a good prank to play on co-workers. Not that I would be involved in any pranks. Wink.


Turning the scanning coils around the neck of the CRT, or swapping the connections to the horizontal coils to get a mirror image would be fun too, especially if somebody who knew about this key combination was trying to use it to "correct" the problem on a machine which doesn't support it! wink


#168306 - 08/31/07 03:11 PM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: pauluk]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
This feature is probably based on the old word processors that used a monitor that more closely matched the page you were writing on. Now days with the flat monitors you are basically 4 screws from turning it 90 degrees. The mounting bracket has 4 holes in a square pattern. If my machine was rendering 8.5x11 documents all day long I would flip it.

Probably a handy thing for a FEW people. MS decided we all needed it.


Greg Fretwell

#168317 - 08/31/07 09:23 PM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: gfretwell]  
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
I can't get it to work on any of my 3 XPSP2-Pro computers... I can do it manually through the display properties, but not with the shortcuts.


#168328 - 09/01/07 07:31 AM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: noderaser]  
Alan Belson  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Mayenne N. France
Is this for the Chinese market?


Wood work but can't!

#168339 - 09/01/07 04:39 PM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: Alan Belson]  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,217
SI,New Zealand
Interesting point, Alan!.
Oddly enough I can't get my laptop to do this, not that I'm going to lose any sleep over it. smile


Let's face it, these days if you're not young, you're old - Red Green grin

#168477 - 09/06/07 01:38 AM Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: Trumpy]  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 785
Chicago, Il.
I learned today that it is a function with Intel on-board graphics. There is a box deep inside the advanced properties where you can enable Hot Keys. If they are enabled, try Ctrl + Alt + F12. Otherwise: Display, Settings, Advanced, Intel(R)...Driver, Graphics Properties, Hot Keys.
Joe


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8206 MB (Peak: 1.0007 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-20 13:48:05 UTC