ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
FPE in Germany
by andey - 12/09/19 01:49 PM
Do you count seconds?
by gfretwell - 12/05/19 07:36 PM
"Esoteric" countries and their wiring practices?
by Texas_Ranger - 12/02/19 10:52 AM
Look at this mess...
by NORCAL - 11/15/19 10:21 PM
New in the Gallery:
FPE in Germany pt.2
FPE Breaker panel in germany
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 11 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
My screen was sideways! #168273 08/30/07 07:54 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 806
J
JoeTestingEngr Offline OP
Member
I signed onto my XP machine last weekend and the screen was sideways, with the top on the right side. i had never seen such a thing and wondered if any malware or virus could be the cause. I called my co-worker and certified Windows expert friend. He had never heard of this but said he would make some calls. I got off the phone and onto Google and hit pay dirt. I learned that with XP, Ctrl+Alt+ an arrow key, flips the screen any way you want it. I called my friend to let him know and asked if he thought it would work on Vista or 2000.

Now this is the part that has me really confused. It didn't work on a single machine at work, including the XP machines. I checked with a few others who run XP and no luck there either. So now I would like to know how many of you can flip your screens this way??? If you can, what OS do you use? Might this be a command that only works with specific video cards and/or drivers?
Joe

Tools for Electricians:
Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: JoeTestingEngr] #168274 08/30/07 08:36 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
Joe i did try that with the Xp computer here also it did work as you described but really IMO i will like to give you a fair warning it can get pretty hard with some veido driver but other side effects i am not sure.

that something i know now but if someone else use the computer with the veido get on " sideway " it really can get someone else spooked up

Merci , Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: frenchelectrican] #168275 08/30/07 08:56 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 457
J
Jim M Offline
Member
Darn if it doesn't work. Kind of neat.

Windows XP, SP2

Sound like a good prank to play on co-workers. Not that I would be involved in any pranks. Wink.

Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: Jim M] #168283 08/31/07 04:00 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
Originally Posted by Jim M
Sound like a good prank to play on co-workers. Not that I would be involved in any pranks. Wink.


If I recall you can also make the screen backward so you would need to look at it in a mirror to see it 'normal'.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: Jim M] #168285 08/31/07 05:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Originally Posted by Jim M
Sound like a good prank to play on co-workers. Not that I would be involved in any pranks. Wink.


Turning the scanning coils around the neck of the CRT, or swapping the connections to the horizontal coils to get a mirror image would be fun too, especially if somebody who knew about this key combination was trying to use it to "correct" the problem on a machine which doesn't support it! wink

Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: pauluk] #168306 08/31/07 02:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,414
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
This feature is probably based on the old word processors that used a monitor that more closely matched the page you were writing on. Now days with the flat monitors you are basically 4 screws from turning it 90 degrees. The mounting bracket has 4 holes in a square pattern. If my machine was rendering 8.5x11 documents all day long I would flip it.

Probably a handy thing for a FEW people. MS decided we all needed it.


Greg Fretwell
Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: gfretwell] #168317 08/31/07 08:23 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
I can't get it to work on any of my 3 XPSP2-Pro computers... I can do it manually through the display properties, but not with the shortcuts.

Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: noderaser] #168328 09/01/07 06:31 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Alan Belson Offline
Member
Is this for the Chinese market?


Wood work but can't!
Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: Alan Belson] #168339 09/01/07 03:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,263
Trumpy Offline
Member
Interesting point, Alan!.
Oddly enough I can't get my laptop to do this, not that I'm going to lose any sleep over it. smile

Re: My screen was sideways! [Re: Trumpy] #168477 09/06/07 12:38 AM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 806
J
JoeTestingEngr Offline OP
Member
I learned today that it is a function with Intel on-board graphics. There is a box deep inside the advanced properties where you can enable Hot Keys. If they are enabled, try Ctrl + Alt + F12. Otherwise: Display, Settings, Advanced, Intel(R)...Driver, Graphics Properties, Hot Keys.
Joe

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
andey 2
Popular Topics(Views)
261,276 Are you busy
196,443 Re: Forum
185,709 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3