ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 5
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,856 Are you busy
175,412 Re: Forum
167,704 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 48 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#161987 - 04/11/07 11:15 AM Sattelite TV Rough-in  
Rabbit  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 62
Kingsport Tennessee
Please forgive me if this has been answered already but I couldn't find it. We are re-wiring an old house, not our niche, and the owner will have Dish Network sattelite system. I am planning on 1 RG6 to a central point. Am I on the right track?


Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides


#161988 - 04/11/07 11:48 AM Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: Rabbit]  
dougwells  Offline


Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,138
kamloops BC Canada
some dish systems will take 2 rg6,s some systems have dual tuners so a person can watch TV in another room with a second remote control , i would run 2 rg6s to at least the living room and if there was a basement location for a big screen i would run 2 to there also.keep in mind a telco jack at these locations is also needed for pay per view programming.The new dish systems can stack signals onto one rg6. hope this helps.


#161997 - 04/11/07 02:54 PM Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: dougwells]  
Rabbit  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 62
Kingsport Tennessee
You bet that helps. I will run 2 RG6 and a CAT 5 to EACH location. Thanks!!!


#162025 - 04/12/07 12:24 AM Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: Rabbit]  
BuildingHomes  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Burlington, Ontario, CANADA
And run the RG6 through a grounding block!


#162027 - 04/12/07 06:51 AM Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: BuildingHomes]  
techie  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 246
palo alto, ca usa
I would run at least 4 quad-shield RG6.
- 2 for dish (dual tuner)
- 1 for antenna
- 1 for in-house distribution to other rooms.

I would also run at least 3 cat5.
- 1 for phone
- 1 for data (think media PC)
- 1 for IR extender (some of the dish remotes are RF, some are IR.)


#162045 - 04/12/07 12:49 PM Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: techie]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
There is a very good chance that all "TV" will be coming down your CAT 5 some day soon so all this coax may be obsolete. Right now I agree we are stringing quad shield but I wouldn't over do it.


Greg Fretwell

#162099 - 04/13/07 02:54 AM Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: gfretwell]  
techie  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 246
palo alto, ca usa
The question was specific to Dish Network.

Current dual tuner DVR units from Dish require 1 RG6 for each receiver, plus one for antenna if desired. The feed to the second tv is either another RG6, or composite video+stereo audio.

That's a minimum of 2 RG6, and 1 cat5, and 1 cat3, assuming that you are feeding the second TV with composite video+stereo audio, or 3 RG6 and 1 cat3 if you are distributing via RF. Add a 4th RG6 if you want the off-air antenna.

You could probably combine antenna and distribution if you are doing a whole-house distribution system.


#162298 - 04/16/07 07:21 PM Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: techie]  
Tom H  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 74
Milford, Ct, USA
i work hand in hand with an AV company, as of right now they prewire a structured [2Cat5/2RG6] to any TV location and 8 [yes I said eight] RG6 to a penetration point for satellite TV, right now Direct TV uses 5 for complete spead of channels. I know you said Dish Network, but Direct TV is what I'm familiar with.


#164200 - 05/27/07 06:54 PM Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: Tom H]  
mrtoolbelt0601  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Atlanta, GA/Dallas,TX
With Dish/DirecTV the diplexer can go just about anywhere but put it close enough to your cable runs. I ran a DTV setup, was a unique situation but was a easy solution to the cable issues they were having. The more rooms the more signal loss but the average quad diplexer should be fine but a commercial diplexer will also work for up to 12-16 ports, as I said more runs more signal loss is great for apartments or hotels.


JNS Contracting Plc
"We do it right so you wont have to"


Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8066 MB (Peak: 0.9791 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-16 15:31:07 UTC