ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by mbhydro. 07/21/18 05:57 PM
Opinions & comments
by HotLine1. 07/21/18 04:44 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 25 guests, and 22 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Sattelite TV Rough-in #161987
04/11/07 11:15 AM
04/11/07 11:15 AM
R
Rabbit  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 64
Kingsport Tennessee
Please forgive me if this has been answered already but I couldn't find it. We are re-wiring an old house, not our niche, and the owner will have Dish Network sattelite system. I am planning on 1 RG6 to a central point. Am I on the right track?

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: Rabbit] #161988
04/11/07 11:48 AM
04/11/07 11:48 AM
dougwells  Offline

Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,145
kamloops BC Canada
some dish systems will take 2 rg6,s some systems have dual tuners so a person can watch TV in another room with a second remote control , i would run 2 rg6s to at least the living room and if there was a basement location for a big screen i would run 2 to there also.keep in mind a telco jack at these locations is also needed for pay per view programming.The new dish systems can stack signals onto one rg6. hope this helps.

Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: dougwells] #161997
04/11/07 02:54 PM
04/11/07 02:54 PM
R
Rabbit  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 64
Kingsport Tennessee
You bet that helps. I will run 2 RG6 and a CAT 5 to EACH location. Thanks!!!

Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: Rabbit] #162025
04/12/07 12:24 AM
04/12/07 12:24 AM
B
BuildingHomes  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Burlington, Ontario, CANADA
And run the RG6 through a grounding block!

Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: BuildingHomes] #162027
04/12/07 06:51 AM
04/12/07 06:51 AM
T
techie  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 247
palo alto, ca usa
I would run at least 4 quad-shield RG6.
- 2 for dish (dual tuner)
- 1 for antenna
- 1 for in-house distribution to other rooms.

I would also run at least 3 cat5.
- 1 for phone
- 1 for data (think media PC)
- 1 for IR extender (some of the dish remotes are RF, some are IR.)

Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: techie] #162045
04/12/07 12:49 PM
04/12/07 12:49 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,242
Estero,Fl,usa
There is a very good chance that all "TV" will be coming down your CAT 5 some day soon so all this coax may be obsolete. Right now I agree we are stringing quad shield but I wouldn't over do it.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: gfretwell] #162099
04/13/07 02:54 AM
04/13/07 02:54 AM
T
techie  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 247
palo alto, ca usa
The question was specific to Dish Network.

Current dual tuner DVR units from Dish require 1 RG6 for each receiver, plus one for antenna if desired. The feed to the second tv is either another RG6, or composite video+stereo audio.

That's a minimum of 2 RG6, and 1 cat5, and 1 cat3, assuming that you are feeding the second TV with composite video+stereo audio, or 3 RG6 and 1 cat3 if you are distributing via RF. Add a 4th RG6 if you want the off-air antenna.

You could probably combine antenna and distribution if you are doing a whole-house distribution system.

Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: techie] #162298
04/16/07 07:21 PM
04/16/07 07:21 PM
T
Tom H  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 74
Milford, Ct, USA
i work hand in hand with an AV company, as of right now they prewire a structured [2Cat5/2RG6] to any TV location and 8 [yes I said eight] RG6 to a penetration point for satellite TV, right now Direct TV uses 5 for complete spead of channels. I know you said Dish Network, but Direct TV is what I'm familiar with.

Re: Sattelite TV Rough-in [Re: Tom H] #164200
05/27/07 06:54 PM
05/27/07 06:54 PM
M
mrtoolbelt0601  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Atlanta, GA/Dallas,TX
With Dish/DirecTV the diplexer can go just about anywhere but put it close enough to your cable runs. I ran a DTV setup, was a unique situation but was a easy solution to the cable issues they were having. The more rooms the more signal loss but the average quad diplexer should be fine but a commercial diplexer will also work for up to 12-16 ports, as I said more runs more signal loss is great for apartments or hotels.


JNS Contracting Plc
"We do it right so you wont have to"

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,168 Are you busy
185,639 Re: Forum
175,010 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.051s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 1.0067 MB (Peak: 1.1787 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-23 06:03:58 UTC