ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Hello... again!
by HotLine1 - 07/15/24 02:47 PM
90.5(C) Explanatory Material 2023
by gfretwell - 07/15/24 01:19 PM
2023 CEU Course
by renosteinke - 07/12/24 03:26 PM
Counterfeit Code Books?
by Comprehensiveedu - 07/12/24 12:16 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 07/11/24 08:51 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 458 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#95332 09/07/05 09:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
M
Member
680.42 states: OUTDOOR INSTALLATIONS A spa or hot tub installed outdoors shall comply with the provisions of Parts I and II of this article, except as permitted in 680.42(A) and (B), that would otherwise apply to pools installed outdoors.

680.22(3) is the reference to the plug I am talking about

Now the question: I just got knocked down for a hot tub that was installed on a concrete porch that the required outdoor plug (installed 12 years ago) was 7 feet from and GFI'd. This should or should not be grandfathered? The plug is in brick. The basement is finished.


I thought that was off!!!!
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#95333 09/07/05 10:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,950
Likes: 34
G
Member
Can you make this work?
680.22 Area Lighting, Receptacles, and Equipment.
(A) Receptacles.
(1) Circulation and Sanitation System, Location. Receptacles that provide power for water-pump motors or for other loads directly related to the circulation and sanitation system shall be located at least 3.0 m (10 ft) from the inside walls of the pool, or not less than 1.5 m (5 ft) from the inside walls of the pool if they meet all of the following conditions:
(1) Consist of single receptacles
(2) Employ a locking configuration
(3) Are of the grounding type
(4) Have GFCI protection


or
(4) Restricted Space. Where a pool is within 3.0 m (10 ft) of a dwelling and the dimensions of the lot preclude meeting the required clearances, not more than one receptacle outlet shall be permitted if not less than 1.5 m (5 ft) measured horizontally from the inside wall of the pool.

[This message has been edited by gfretwell (edited 09-07-2005).]


Greg Fretwell
#95334 09/07/05 11:12 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
M
Member
nope, (4) doesnt apply because beyond the doorwall is about 4 feet of space. The problem I have is the failure of the existing plug.

Inspector said "why dont you tear out the inside plug (finished basement) and drill through the brick and add a plug?"


I thought that was off!!!!
#95335 09/07/05 11:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,950
Likes: 34
G
Member
Move the hot tub? [Linked Image]


Greg Fretwell
#95336 09/07/05 11:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
M
Member
lol I wish, it was a brand new concrete pour for it. Right against the house...about 10 feet from the doorwall.


I thought that was off!!!!
#95337 09/08/05 08:17 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Sure the outlet is grandfathered in but the new tub is not.

He is not failing the outlet for being to close to the tub.

He is failing the tub for being to close to the outlet.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#95338 09/08/05 11:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,950
Likes: 34
G
Member
If you can't get in under the restricted space rule I suspect you are scrod.
The AHJ is the final word unless you want to stir the pot.

How far is "about 10'"?

Bear in mind that rule doesn't say it has to be 9'11" away (or whatever the fartherest distance available) if you can't get >10'. If you can't get >10' it can be 5.0001'.


Greg Fretwell
#95339 09/08/05 11:43 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 814
B
Member
Can you mount an extension to the existing box then pipe over three feet and mount a GFCI in a surface mounted box?


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5