ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 11 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#95091 08/27/05 12:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 240
Member
my boss had a 1HP franklin well controller he wanted to use to replace a 1/2 HP well pump motor. i did what he asked but the well would not pump with this controller. i told him that we needed to get a 1/2 HP controller because they were different ratings, to which he told me that the well guys at the wholesale house said it is ok to go up HP on controller just not down(makes sense theorhetically). but after troubleshooting everything else pressure switch, disconnect, power from panel, capcitor. he broke down and got a new controller 1/2 HP and wool-ahh it worked.
not wanting to gloat i told him perhaps the electronic starter was bad in the 1 HP to which he agreed.
anyway my question is this "can you use a 1 HP controller for a 1/2 HP well pump?" in which case it truly was just a bad starter in a brand new controller.

any thoughts?

h20

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#95092 08/27/05 01:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Sure, as long as the overload settings match the pump.

Regardless of those settings the pump would run it just would not shut the motor down if overloaded.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#95093 08/27/05 01:43 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
S
Member
The Start & Run Capcitors are in the Franklin box. Perhaps they are different sizes for the HP ratings.

Rob

#95094 08/27/05 01:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
That would change my opinion, then I would say you must use the right box.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#95095 08/29/05 10:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 324
S
Member
Though the 1 and the 1.5 HP Franklin Submersibles use the same starter, the 0.5 HP is definitely different and yes the start and run capacitors are in the controller box (overloads also).


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,438
Joined: February 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
297,562 Are you busy
228,372 Re: Forum
213,249 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5