ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 429 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#93814 06/25/05 10:46 AM
G
iwire & capt al ---

Because I have no knowledge as to how far outside specs (if any) others tighten their fittings, I will not address problems that others may have with circuits under 200amps.

I have given 3 methods of checking torque. I don't see you offering a method to check torque.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

#93815 06/25/05 10:56 AM
I
I have given 3 methods of checking torque. I don't see you offering a method to check torque

I have not offered one because there is no way to check torque short of being there while it is being done. [Linked Image]

Method 1:
He marks the position of the fastener, and using the proper tool applies torque to the lower limit.

If the fastener moves, he fails the job.

This does not check torque, this only ensure torque has been reached, it does not tell us if torque has been exceeded.

Method 2:

He requires a special inspection at the time of the installation.

I agree with Method 2

Method 3:

He requires a fastener where the head breaks off at the proper torque.