ECN Forum
Posted By: George Little Torque - 06/18/05 09:21 PM
How does an inspector know if you torqued a termination to the proper amount when he makes an inspection?
Posted By: iwire Re: Torque - 06/18/05 09:28 PM
They don't know and I can not see anyway they could unless they stand there and watch me do it.
Posted By: George Re: Torque - 06/18/05 10:41 PM
Method 1:

He marks the position of the fastener, and using the proper tool applies torque to the lower limit.

If the fastener moves, he fails the job.

Method 2:

He requires a special inspection at the time of the instalation.

Method 3:

He requires a fastener where the head breaks off at the proper torque.

As an engineer I would require #2 or #3 and so state on the plans and bid sheets.
Posted By: iwire Re: Torque - 06/18/05 10:51 PM
Method 3:

I sure would be interested to see any panels, breakers or busbars equipped with the breakaway heads. [Linked Image]

I have only seen bus duct available with those fasteners.

As far as the inspector operating a tool that will not happen in my area.

They will not take on that responsibility and I do not blame them.

Who would pay for repairs if something breaks.

Or say the inspector was the last one to touch the terminal and 11 months later it fails for any reason.

In MA we are required to provide a one year warranty.

Who would be responsible?
Posted By: dmattox Re: Torque - 06/18/05 11:43 PM
If you try torquing down something that is already torqued you risk over torquing it, as in breaking it.

Around here, some inspectors dont care. Some want something in company letter head stating you torqued everything. Some want to watch you.

Lately I've started marking my initials, the amount I torqued it to and the date. Haven't had an inspector bring up torquing since.
Posted By: winnie Re: Torque - 06/19/05 04:45 AM