ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/19/20 03:43 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
2 wires on breaker? #90837 12/15/04 01:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 178
R
Reel-Break Offline OP
Member
Hey guys where do I find where its permissable to have 2 wires on a breaker.Listing for the device in the white book?Here`s why I ask I always wire a couple of bed rooms on a afci and bring the circits to panel and place both on same breaker reason is I can easily separate for trouple shooting and if its something I can`t do at the time I can at least have the other room working real quick by moving to another afci.New code inforcement guy wants to see why I can other than me saying it has a place for 2 wires on the breaker.I really can`t find the justification for it.Thanks in advance

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 2 wires on breaker? #90838 12/15/04 02:12 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
electricman2 Offline
Member
I believe Square D QO will accept 2 conductors, there may be others. Consult manufacturer. Why not just pigtail in panel?


John
Re: 2 wires on breaker? #90839 12/15/04 04:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,531
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
On the QO it is right on the breaker. Look at the tiny label in the wiring recess. Bring your glasses ;-)


Greg Fretwell
Re: 2 wires on breaker? #90840 12/15/04 07:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 58
E
energy7 Offline
Member
I usually find it on the listing label on the panelboard cover. (Where it's upside down, and in small print. So use your glasses and crank your head around.)
Every brand I've seen recently allows double lugging only on the grounding conductors. Hots and Neutrals (That's "ungrounded and grounded conductors", sorry!) are singles.

Re: 2 wires on breaker? #90841 12/15/04 08:32 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Roger Offline
Member
Energy7, the information on the panel or panel cover, doesn't directly address the breakers.

For an example go to this Homeline breaker link, and scroll down to the Circuit Breaker Wire Sizes, take note of the (2) in the conductors listed for breakers 10 thru 30 amps.

Reel-Break, now for the bad news if you are using SQ D QO breakers (I would contact SQ D for clarification) in the QO series You will see the AFCI's are only listed for one conductor.

The other manufacturers may list their AFCI's for two conductors, you can contact them for this info, I have always found them willing to help.

Roger

Re: 2 wires on breaker? #90842 12/19/04 08:17 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 54
W
wayne Offline
Member
Hi Reel break,
I can understand the reason why you like to do that, What I do around here, since there is one wire per breaker I make a yoke ( splice) whin a few inches of the breaker in question. I have not seen it in the code that would allow you to do it otherwise, unless the equipment is designed for it. Hope this will help, thought I would just drop a little input. later

Re: 2 wires on breaker? #90843 12/20/04 10:21 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 178
R
Reel-Break Offline OP
Member
Thanks guys for the responces.Hey Roger thanks I was useing the qo for this one.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,700 Are you busy
204,939 Re: Forum
193,051 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3