ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Upside Down ThreeWay
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:30 AM
Load Calcs for EVs and RVs
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:24 AM
Wiring method choice
by HotLine1 - 08/10/22 03:39 PM
NEC- 314.23 (H) (1)
by renosteinke - 08/10/22 11:13 AM
RV Forums
by gfretwell - 08/07/22 07:01 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 10 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#90837 12/15/04 01:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 178
R
Member
Hey guys where do I find where its permissable to have 2 wires on a breaker.Listing for the device in the white book?Here`s why I ask I always wire a couple of bed rooms on a afci and bring the circits to panel and place both on same breaker reason is I can easily separate for trouple shooting and if its something I can`t do at the time I can at least have the other room working real quick by moving to another afci.New code inforcement guy wants to see why I can other than me saying it has a place for 2 wires on the breaker.I really can`t find the justification for it.Thanks in advance

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#90838 12/15/04 02:12 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
Member
I believe Square D QO will accept 2 conductors, there may be others. Consult manufacturer. Why not just pigtail in panel?


John
#90839 12/15/04 04:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,718
Likes: 11
G
Member
On the QO it is right on the breaker. Look at the tiny label in the wiring recess. Bring your glasses ;-)


Greg Fretwell
#90840 12/15/04 07:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 58
E
Member
I usually find it on the listing label on the panelboard cover. (Where it's upside down, and in small print. So use your glasses and crank your head around.)
Every brand I've seen recently allows double lugging only on the grounding conductors. Hots and Neutrals (That's "ungrounded and grounded conductors", sorry!) are singles.

#90841 12/15/04 08:32 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
Energy7, the information on the panel or panel cover, doesn't directly address the breakers.

For an example go to this Homeline breaker link, and scroll down to the Circuit Breaker Wire Sizes, take note of the (2) in the conductors listed for breakers 10 thru 30 amps.

Reel-Break, now for the bad news if you are using SQ D QO breakers (I would contact SQ D for clarification) in the QO series You will see the AFCI's are only listed for one conductor.

The other manufacturers may list their AFCI's for two conductors, you can contact them for this info, I have always found them willing to help.

Roger

#90842 12/19/04 08:17 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 54
W
Member
Hi Reel break,
I can understand the reason why you like to do that, What I do around here, since there is one wire per breaker I make a yoke ( splice) whin a few inches of the breaker in question. I have not seen it in the code that would allow you to do it otherwise, unless the equipment is designed for it. Hope this will help, thought I would just drop a little input. later

#90843 12/20/04 10:21 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 178
R
Member
Thanks guys for the responces.Hey Roger thanks I was useing the qo for this one.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CharlieE
CharlieE
Indianapolis
Posts: 201
Joined: April 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 5
Popular Topics(Views)
294,947 Are you busy
226,583 Re: Forum
211,814 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5