ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Stray voltage in Bait tanks ?
by gfretwell - 06/24/21 01:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Jim M - 06/23/21 10:04 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 9 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#90428 11/21/04 01:40 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 14
S
Member
We have 3 3 phase 3 HP fan motors that are
continuous duty.
Can we use cord and plug and the breaker
to operate the motors? or do we have to
use a overload section on each motor?

Thanks,
Sparky_1

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#90429 11/21/04 11:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
Most 3 phase motors do not have built in overload protection. You have to install an overload device in each conductor & this is usually done with a motor starter. See 430.32

As for using the cord & plug connection, that will require a horsepower rated receptacle and a horsepower rated cord cap.430.109(F)

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
#90430 11/21/04 11:51 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 14
S
Member
Thanks for the information Tom


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,481 Are you busy
213,569 Re: Forum
200,439 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5