ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Any women electricians here?
by HotLine1 - 01/27/22 02:44 PM
12 Lead Motor Connection Weird
by emolatur - 01/19/22 02:40 PM
Well There's your problem.
by gfretwell - 01/08/22 12:17 AM
Happy New Year!!
by HotLine1 - 01/04/22 09:50 AM
Sangamo s309.2
by Robski - 12/31/21 04:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 47 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#88484 06/10/04 05:31 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 116
S
Member
This is the situation:

HO wants an additional outside montion sensor light installed.

The current circuit has 2 outlets (one on the ceiling for the garage door opener and one on the wall [not GFCI, told HO about this requirement] and a dual bulb motion sensor light (has the newer fluorescent energy saver bulbs). This is a 15A circuit.

I want to tie into the current montion sensor light fixture and run conduit approx. 18' to the other side of garage door frame to the new motion sensor light.

The HO has some Romex (NM-B 14-2) that he wants me to run through the conduit.

Is this ok? I have never considered running NM through conduit, looked through the 2002 NEC Handbook, but didn't see anything about this situation.

Thoughts, comments?

Thanks
Steve


Thanks
Steve
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#88485 06/10/04 08:32 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 375
G
Member
18' of wire seems a small issue for taking so much time to decide.

Yes, you can. I strip off the sheath for short runs. 40% fill kicks the size of conduit up if you leave the sheath on.

#88486 06/10/04 09:30 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
C
Member
It sounds like this conduit is going to be on the exterior, if so this would be a wet or damp location. Type NM cable is only to be used in dry locations. Also the conductors in type NM cable are not marked with their type and not approved for individual use in a raceway.

Curt


Curt Swartz
#88487 06/11/04 11:22 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 116
S
Member
Thanks for the replies.

I was (and will) going to run 14 guage THHN and be done with it.

Stripping down the NM is not a good use of my time (grin), and will not happen by me.

The HO just wanted to save an extra couple $$.

Steve


Thanks
Steve
#88488 06/11/04 12:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
Member
Outside is a wet location, the wire should be THWN. Most building wire has multiple ratings, so this may not be an issue.


Earl
#88489 06/14/04 06:08 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
Unless it's needed for physical protection... why bother?

Run THHN/THWN and be done with it.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Admin
Admin
NY, USA
Posts: 3,669
Joined: October 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
288,242 Are you busy
220,308 Re: Forum
206,295 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5