ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
T8 to LED retrofit-ballast or bypass?
by gfretwell - 01/19/21 08:05 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by NORCAL - 01/17/21 05:26 AM
Can I ask for your input?
by electure - 01/16/21 07:04 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 01/16/21 10:29 AM
Photo Editing Software?
by grich - 01/13/21 11:18 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84641 04/15/03 11:31 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
F
Format_C: Offline OP
Member
In my bedroom (I still live with my parents so don't laugh [Linked Image] ) Computer side of my room. 8 Outlet strip - Computer,Monitor,Cable Modem,Linksys Router,Printer,Scanner,Speakers,6 outlet tap(non surge pluged into surge strip to get surge protection),Digital Camera recharger.

Entertainment Center in my room. 8 Outlet surge strip TV,VCR,Cable Box,Receiver,DVD Player,CD Player,Playstation 2

All on one 15 AMP Circuit (Have not tripped a breaker yet.)

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84642 04/15/03 11:35 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
F
Format_C: Offline OP
Member
Damn meant to post in "Does the code keep up with technology?

Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84643 04/16/03 07:26 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 175
E
electric-ed Offline
Member
Circuit breakers have been known to malfunction, that is, to not trip at their rated current.
You could check by measuring the current at peak load.

I like fuses. There is very little that can go wrong with them when used properly.

Ed

Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84644 04/16/03 07:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 642
N
nesparky Offline
Member
take an amp reading with a clamp on ammeter. You will find your actual use load if everything is on. Probably you will find a load a lot less than you think. Most modern electronic equipment like you described draws little load.


ed
Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84645 04/16/03 10:50 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,691
S
SvenNYC Offline
Member
It's when some wise-guy goes to plug in a heater that you have a problem. [Linked Image]

Do your power strips have fuses/circuit breakers on them?

What do y'all think of those mini-breakers on plug-strips? Are they reliable?

I've only seen one blow so far....because I plugged a heater and a vacuum cleaner and a computer into one to see what would happen.

It did trip....but I've known two instances (one personally) where a brand new strip shot sparks as soon as it was plugged into the floor receptacle. [Linked Image]

I also prefer fuses (non-tamp type), but when the three dedicated 20 amp circuits were added to my apartment, the EC changed the existing fuse panel (two 15 amp circuits) for a breaker box.

Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84646 04/16/03 11:22 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
F
Format_C: Offline OP
Member
Yes 15 AMP resetable circut breaker
don't know if they are reliable as I never had one trip

Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84647 04/16/03 11:35 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 552
T
txsparky Offline
Member
Quote
From SvenNYC.....It's when some wise-guy goes to plug in a heater that you have a problem.

Man is that ever true? See that situation all of the time in commercial buildings. Seems everyone wants one under the desk !


Donnie
Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84648 04/16/03 02:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 209
S
Scotts Offline
Member
Yeah, and then they complain when the breaker trips and they lose an hour's worth of work because they did not hit the save button.

Save early, save often.
Scott

Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84649 04/16/03 05:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
I doubt you have any potential overload situation there. Just taking some power consumption figures out of thin air, and being very liberal with them, let's say:

Computer 300W (unless it's a big Unix server or a Kray!)
Monitor 100W
Receiver (powerful amplifier?) 100W
TV 200W (big screen color).

Let's go crazy and allow 50W each for modem, router, printer (unless it's a laser type), scanner, computer speaker/amp, camera charger, VCR, cable box, DVD, CD, and Play-Station, even though with modern equipment they'd be unlikely to use anything like that much power.

That would still be only 1250 watts total, or a little over 10 amps.

I'd bet that in practice and assuming this is all fairly average modern equipment, even with everything on that list running flat out you'd be unlikely to see even half that much current flowing


[This message has been edited by pauluk (edited 04-16-2003).]

Re: Overloaded Circuit or what? :eek: #84650 04/16/03 06:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
"What do you mean it's bad? It works doesn't it?"


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 15
NORCAL 10
Popular Topics(Views)
274,030 Are you busy
207,803 Re: Forum
195,498 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3