ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 09/13/20 01:17 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Sub panel #81344 08/05/02 11:13 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 178
R
Reel-Break Offline OP
Member
Went into addition friend of mine is doing and he had a 125a sub panel w/no main breaker.It was feed from a 200 amp panel.He says the builder told him that since he only had 3 wires coming to the 200a panel all he needed was 3 to the sub.I`m I correct in that if the panel he`s feeding from has more than 6 breakers he needs the main?He also needs 4 wire to the sub panel.Thanks in advance.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Sub panel #81345 08/05/02 12:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
Talk to an electrician. Talk to an electrician. Talk to an electrician.

The sub-panel does not need a main breaker in it. The number of circuits doesn't matter.

The wires feeding the 125A sub-panel DO need a breaker in the 200A main panel.

There must be 4 wires from the main panel to the sub-panel (2 hots, neutral, and ground), unless the feed is in grounded metal conduit.

Re: Sub panel #81346 08/05/02 01:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 178
R
Reel-Break Offline OP
Member
JBD did your enter key get stuck or you just not having a good day.That was the purpose of the post was to ask an electrician.Sorry if the question somehow bothered you.I detect sarcasome in the post. If it did why even respond.ThanksThanksThanks.I just wasn`t sure about the main.I`ll get a code book and find what had me confused something about if the panel feeding from had 6 ocp`s the panel would need a main but seems I`m wrong.Quess thats why I`m but a we helper maybe one day I`ll be a code wizz like you guys.Maybe I`m not having a good day
Sorry

Re: Sub panel #81347 08/05/02 06:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
Im with JBD Im with JBD Im with JBD

Re: Sub panel #81348 08/05/02 06:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
read 408.16, 230.71
read 408.16, 230.71
read 408.16, 230.71

Re: Sub panel #81349 08/05/02 08:06 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
Oh c'mon guys, Reel-Break's one of us ain't he?

[Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image]

I mean: I've asked some fairly elementary Q's about control work cuz I ain't done much of it, give 'em a break on the resi Q's...

We're all on the same side here!

[Linked Image]


[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 08-06-2002).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: Sub panel #81350 08/06/02 01:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,960
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
Reel-Break

I always think it's a good idea to have a main in the sub panel, but you may be thinking of 230.71(A) which talks about when a Main is required for the Service. Take a look and see if that's what you're thinking of.

Bill


Bill
Re: Sub panel #81351 08/06/02 02:20 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
C
caselec Offline
Member
Bill

Is installing a main breaker in sub panels pretty standard for your area or is it something you just like to do? Out here on the west coast you almost never find a main breaker in a panel unless its the service or connected to a xmfr. Most of our residential services are combination panels (meter, main and load center). I have noticed that most of the load center in mail order catalogs have main breakers. Out here the supply houses stock very few with mains. If a main breaker is needed you usually have to back feed one with a retainer clip.

Curt


Curt Swartz
Re: Sub panel #81352 08/06/02 03:17 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,960
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
Curt,

Retail stores really only carry MB panelboards or smaller MLO (4 to 12 cir). We don't put loadcenters outside houses here. I've never seen one. Maybe no one wants to go outside in the snow ??

Meter-Mains aren't very common either. They are generally only used when they have to be because a 200A Meter-Main runs over $400 and I've paid as much as $8 /ft. for 2/0 SER cable (Copper here) So that means the the main must be in the Panelboard.

Many times when I've installed residential sub panels it it for a Workshop or Apartment. I think that most people generally like having a Main for the panel, especially nowadays when more people are attempting varying degrees of electrical work. It's just a bit more convenient I think and maybe a little more feeling of security if they don't have to worry about someone turning the power back on from another location.

Some of the GE panels are convertible from MLO to MB with a little kit too that goes on top and screws right into the lugs.

Bill


Bill
Re: Sub panel #81353 08/06/02 04:17 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Sub-panels over here usually have a main switch (not a main C/B) on them as well, at least in residential work.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,957 Are you busy
204,381 Re: Forum
192,599 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3