ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Photo Editing Software?
by Fridayrack - 12/03/21 05:05 AM
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by NORCAL - 11/30/21 12:48 PM
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 13 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3
A
arthur Offline OP
Junior Member
Hi all,

I have to install outlets in the basement, the studs are 1.5" thick and the insulation is 1.5", the drywall is .5" ,this gives me at least 2" clearance from the concrete wall. If I put the NM B wires in between stud and insulation will this be up to CODE ? I'm thinking that that any 1.25" screw or nail can't reach the wire so this will be OK. I just don't want to remove the insulation and use conduit (?).

Thanks,

Arthur

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 62
M
Member
You can notch the front side of the studs and lay the romex in there and install metal nail plates over the romex. Keep the romex no less than 1 1/4" from the front of the studs for the vertical run(s) of romex to the outlet boxes (running parallel to the studs).

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 62
M
Member
Correction; steel nail plate a minimum of 1/16" thick.

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,042
Likes: 3
Member
Arthur,

I'm having a hard time picturing what you are talking about. Are these studs 'on the Flat' against the concrete wall? What type of insulation? I'm trying to figure out what you mean by going between the stud and insulation.

Quote
the studs are 1.5" thick and the insulation is 1.5", the drywall is .5" ,this gives me at least 2" clearance from the concrete wall. If I put the NM B wires in between stud and insulation will this be up to CODE ?

Bill


Bill
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3
A
arthur Offline OP
Junior Member
The studs and the rigid insulation were already in placed by the builder. Shall I say 'can I put the wires in the gap between the stud and insulation' ? or simply at the side of the stud adjacent to the insulation ?

Thanks,

Arthur

Quote
Originally posted by Bill Addiss:
Arthur,

I'm having a hard time picturing what you are talking about. Are these studs 'on the Flat' against the concrete wall? What type of insulation? I'm trying to figure out what you mean by going between the stud and insulation.

Bill

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,042
Likes: 3
Member
Arthur,

You should be Ok if you can figure some way of securing the cable back there (all the way).

Make sure that you are using boxes of the proper cu. in. capacity.

Bill


Bill

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
286,525 Are you busy
218,968 Re: Forum
205,087 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5