ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
smoke alarm question #76648 03/05/01 01:25 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7
G
GaryGnu Offline OP
Junior Member
I am in the process of finishing a basement. One of the circuits I am using passes through a box that contains a smoke alarm. This smoke alarm is wired using 4 wires (ground/neutral/black/red). The red wire is part of a 14/3 wire that goes upstairs in the house (not sure where). My question is why does this smoke alarm have 2 hot wires (black red)?

Thanks for any help.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: smoke alarm question #76649 03/05/01 02:02 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
Black would be the hot wire, red would be a communication wire to set off all of the smoke alarms at once. The detector may have black and orange wires (as well as a white grounded conductor), the black wire would go to the black conductor, the orange wire to the red conductor. The white wire goes to the white grounded conductor and green or bare (if it has any) goes to the green or bare equipment grounding conductor.


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: smoke alarm question #76650 03/05/01 10:51 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7
G
GaryGnu Offline OP
Junior Member
The smoke detector actually has a yellow wire which is connected to the red wire on the 14/3. I would like to test these alarms since I had to temporarily disconnect them. How do I accomplish this? Is pressing the test button going to set off the other smoke detectors in the house? Or do I need to blow smoke into the alarm?

Re: smoke alarm question #76651 03/05/01 03:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
Yes, the yellow in this case would be correct.

The test button on any detector should set off all detectors connected to the system.



[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 03-05-2001).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,787 Are you busy
205,000 Re: Forum
193,115 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3