ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
EMC Glands on Motors
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 06:12 AM
Ground Rods: Installation and Hook-Up
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 05:54 AM
Happy Thanksgiving all!
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:55 PM
Colt Firearms Switchbox
by NORCAL - 11/29/22 01:04 AM
Perfect work light?
by gfretwell - 11/22/22 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 51 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#76648 03/05/01 12:25 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7
G
GaryGnu Offline OP
Junior Member
I am in the process of finishing a basement. One of the circuits I am using passes through a box that contains a smoke alarm. This smoke alarm is wired using 4 wires (ground/neutral/black/red). The red wire is part of a 14/3 wire that goes upstairs in the house (not sure where). My question is why does this smoke alarm have 2 hot wires (black red)?

Thanks for any help.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#76649 03/05/01 01:02 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Black would be the hot wire, red would be a communication wire to set off all of the smoke alarms at once. The detector may have black and orange wires (as well as a white grounded conductor), the black wire would go to the black conductor, the orange wire to the red conductor. The white wire goes to the white grounded conductor and green or bare (if it has any) goes to the green or bare equipment grounding conductor.


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#76650 03/05/01 09:51 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7
G
GaryGnu Offline OP
Junior Member
The smoke detector actually has a yellow wire which is connected to the red wire on the 14/3. I would like to test these alarms since I had to temporarily disconnect them. How do I accomplish this? Is pressing the test button going to set off the other smoke detectors in the house? Or do I need to blow smoke into the alarm?

#76651 03/05/01 02:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Yes, the yellow in this case would be correct.

The test button on any detector should set off all detectors connected to the system.



[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 03-05-2001).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
NORCAL 5
Popular Topics(Views)
300,434 Are you busy
230,064 Re: Forum
214,856 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5