ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
239,976 Are you busy
175,569 Re: Forum
167,817 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 58 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#75937 - 03/21/07 07:27 PM Shrink wrap lable printer ?  
Grover  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Sebago, ME, USA
Landed a big job - 100's of #16 THHN need to be cut, re-labled and terminated in DIN blocks.

Looked around, and finally bought the DYMO Rhino 3000 (got lots of sequential PLC terminations to do) because it promised to allow "serialization" of lables - sequential numbering.

Problem: Dymo has a minimum lable length of 1.5 inches. It allows you to set fixed length to less, but the default overrides.

At lotsa bucks per 5' spool, I'm wasting 1" for every 1/2" lable I print. Seems like they want to sell a lot of spools!

Where did I go wrong? Anybody got a better solution? What are you using? I'm about ready to return the unit, but go back to handwriting.... frown

Thanks for help guys...

Grov


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#75938 - 03/21/07 08:25 PM Re: Shrink wrap lable printer ?  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 785
Chicago, Il.
We use the Brady LS2000 and either vinyl labels (frosted/clear) or Permasleeves. I guess your problem is similar to what I deal with on my Brother P-Touch at home. I try to print several at a time with a few spaces between them so I mimimize the header/footer waste. If you don't need both ends of your cables marked and need every marker serialized, I guess your stuck with the waste.
Joe


#75939 - 03/21/07 10:29 PM Re: Shrink wrap lable printer ?  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
I have the brother, same problem. What I do is make one long label with as many numbers as the buffer will hold. Just put a few spaces between them. You still waste the inch, but only once per strip of labels.


Greg Fretwell

#75940 - 03/22/07 01:01 AM Re: Shrink wrap lable printer ?  
electricman786  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
sacramento
I have Brother P Touch. Same problem and do same as above two people do.


#75941 - 03/22/07 08:58 PM Re: Shrink wrap lable printer ?  
Jim M  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 457
Chestertown, MD, USA
You may want to check out the Brady IDpal. There are various formats available including ones for wire wraps. You can set the required diameter too.

http://www.bradyidpal.com

They also make a desktop version. This link is for the handheld.



Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7688 MB (Peak: 0.9086 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-20 08:07:08 UTC