ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
250.104
by gfretwell. 02/16/19 01:08 PM
PurpleAir Recalls Power Supply Units
by Admin. 02/14/19 08:43 PM
Utility Company Programs
by katty81. 02/14/19 11:11 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Trumpy. 02/14/19 12:29 AM
Delta Electronics Recalls Solar Inverters
by electech. 02/13/19 10:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 22 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Shrink wrap lable printer ? #75937
03/21/07 06:27 PM
03/21/07 06:27 PM
Grover  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Sebago, ME, USA
Landed a big job - 100's of #16 THHN need to be cut, re-labled and terminated in DIN blocks.

Looked around, and finally bought the DYMO Rhino 3000 (got lots of sequential PLC terminations to do) because it promised to allow "serialization" of lables - sequential numbering.

Problem: Dymo has a minimum lable length of 1.5 inches. It allows you to set fixed length to less, but the default overrides.

At lotsa bucks per 5' spool, I'm wasting 1" for every 1/2" lable I print. Seems like they want to sell a lot of spools!

Where did I go wrong? Anybody got a better solution? What are you using? I'm about ready to return the unit, but go back to handwriting.... frown

Thanks for help guys...

Grov

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Shrink wrap lable printer ? #75938
03/21/07 07:25 PM
03/21/07 07:25 PM
J
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 800
Chicago, Il.
We use the Brady LS2000 and either vinyl labels (frosted/clear) or Permasleeves. I guess your problem is similar to what I deal with on my Brother P-Touch at home. I try to print several at a time with a few spaces between them so I mimimize the header/footer waste. If you don't need both ends of your cables marked and need every marker serialized, I guess your stuck with the waste.
Joe

Re: Shrink wrap lable printer ? #75939
03/21/07 09:29 PM
03/21/07 09:29 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,337
Estero,Fl,usa
I have the brother, same problem. What I do is make one long label with as many numbers as the buffer will hold. Just put a few spaces between them. You still waste the inch, but only once per strip of labels.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Shrink wrap lable printer ? #75940
03/22/07 12:01 AM
03/22/07 12:01 AM
E
electricman786  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
sacramento
I have Brother P Touch. Same problem and do same as above two people do.

Re: Shrink wrap lable printer ? #75941
03/22/07 07:58 PM
03/22/07 07:58 PM
J
Jim M  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 457
Chestertown, MD, USA
You may want to check out the Brady IDpal. There are various formats available including ones for wire wraps. You can set the required diameter too.

http://www.bradyidpal.com

They also make a desktop version. This link is for the handheld.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
andey 3
Popular Topics(Views)
253,235 Are you busy
189,881 Re: Forum
179,586 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9680 MB (Peak: 1.1049 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-02-18 18:41:04 UTC