ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 04:26 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 04:11 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:51 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:42 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
More & more Generators #72392 11/28/06 07:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 250
T
Trick440 Offline OP
Member
Well you guys have helped me on the last generator questions so much. I could use your help on my other generator issues.

Heres the new story....

We have a residential home, with 2, 200A service sub panels. We will be installing a 35+Kw Genny, w/ an ATS.

The way I figured the install is... Out of the meter to the ATS, from the ATS to a Disconnect,.. At this point we need to split and go out to the 200a panels.

Sounds good to me... but..

The disconnect, where I can come in with that 400a and split it to the 2 , 200a panels. What is the best route to go here, a 4 space panel? Install two 200a breakers then out to the panel? I checked with the supply house they don't seem to be familuar with a disconnect specific for this application.

So... feel free to comment. [Linked Image] .. and thank you.


[This message has been edited by Trick440 (edited 11-28-2006).]


Shake n Bake
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: More & more Generators #72393 11/28/06 09:01 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
R
Rewired Offline
Member
Wow thats gonna be a fair size ATS eh!
If it were me for the "inside" part regardless if there is a generator upstream or not, I would come into a 400 A disconnect then out to a splitter trough and out of that with 2 x 200A fused disconnects or breakers. Whatever you prefer.. That way with the trough it allows you to "expand" a bit should the homeowner want to add something down the road such as a " shop" or something along those lines.


Just out of curiousity, I do not know what the codes are in your area but should there not be some sort of disconnect between the meter and ATS?

A.D

Re: More & more Generators #72394 11/28/06 09:09 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
At least you are not trying to put this on a 10Kw or worse a 120v 2000w... 35 is at least in the neighborhood for the possible load.

I'm a little unsure of the meter and main(s)? I assume from what I can gather that you have a 320c/400 meter base - how does that get to the two 200a panels? 2 main panels? Or is it a meter/main combo w/ 2, 200's?

Either way I would say size your gennie disco for the generator and take that to a gutter and split that with taps to two 200a ATS's. I would also set it up so that one kicks over later than the other to stagger any in-rush. And.... You will want to have all of this on the load side of the mains or you are going to have possible issues with the POCO and a bonding nightmare. Your best situation would be a meter/main combo w/ 2, 200's then to two ATS's. IMPO

--------------------
I was beat to it.... [Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by e57 (edited 11-28-2006).]


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: More & more Generators #72395 11/28/06 09:33 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 250
T
Trick440 Offline OP
Member
Yup I can't wait to see this ATS, and generator for that matter. Should be fun. [Linked Image]

Expanding shouldn't be an issue. When this home is done, its done... there will be nothing other to add. Shops, and garages are setup.

The ATS will have the disconnect built in. The 200a have a main breaker... this 400 should be about the same.

Splitter trough, I like that.
[Linked Image from hammfg.com]


Shake n Bake
Re: More & more Generators #72396 11/28/06 10:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 250
T
Trick440 Offline OP
Member
Hey E i didn't see your post before I posted , so didnt get to answer.

The ATS is from the generator manufacturer, there will be other control wires and such.. So from the meter to the ATS is certain.


Shake n Bake
Re: More & more Generators #72397 11/29/06 07:07 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
resqcapt19 Offline
Member
Trick,
Is the ATS listed as service equipment? If not, it can't be on the line side of the service disconnect.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: More & more Generators #72398 11/29/06 03:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 250
T
Trick440 Offline OP
Member
Yes it is listed to the application.

See the problem is the splitting of the 400a to 2- 200a. Not so much anything else....

so trough is the best bet it sounds.


Shake n Bake
Re: More & more Generators #72399 12/01/06 02:41 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Active 1 Offline
Member
You could go with 2 200A service rated transfer switches between the meter and panel.

Re: More & more Generators #72400 12/02/06 09:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Obsaleet Offline
Member
Why not use double lugs in the ATS and paralell to the 200a loadcenters? Does the ATS come with Lugs?
Phil(Ob)


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CharlieE
CharlieE
Indianapolis
Posts: 201
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 20
Popular Topics(Views)
272,184 Are you busy
206,070 Re: Forum
194,081 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3