ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/19/18 04:38 PM
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/18/18 09:08 AM
Light Pole Grounding
by Mosfet74. 08/18/18 08:42 AM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
setting anchors for pole #71149
10/23/06 07:41 PM
10/23/06 07:41 PM
B
bot540  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Vernon Hills, IL
How do you set light anchors when pouring concrete for pole lights? I've done the plywood template method but I think there is got to be a better way. Any suggestions?


Jesus may have been a capenter,but God was an electrician.Genesis1:3
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: setting anchors for pole #71150
10/23/06 07:57 PM
10/23/06 07:57 PM
F
Fred  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
Straughn, IN 47387
I take the anchor bolts and the bolt pattern template to the welding shop and have the bolts welded to a rebar cage. Stick the cage in the sonotube hole and run the conduit up through the cage. Now the bolts are part of a CCE.

Re: setting anchors for pole #71151
10/23/06 10:00 PM
10/23/06 10:00 PM
C
Celtic  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 361
NJ
Plywood template is a tried and true method....simple, cheap, effective, easy to produce "mass quantities", etc.


~~ CELTIC ~~
...-= NJ =-...
Re: setting anchors for pole #71152
10/24/06 04:40 AM
10/24/06 04:40 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
I like the cage idea but I doubt I will ever do it.

I have never found it hard to use plywood, you can re-use the plywood if you do a lot of pole bases.

Or you can, at least in this area buy pre-cast pole bases and just place them in the ground.

The last pre-cast ones I did where about 7,000 Lbs.....plywood and a cement truck is easier. [Linked Image]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: setting anchors for pole #71153
10/24/06 07:32 AM
10/24/06 07:32 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
Did the pre-cast a few times, was job spec from the engineer.

Like the plywood.

Just don't forget the rebar!!

John


John
Re: setting anchors for pole #71154
10/25/06 10:26 AM
10/25/06 10:26 AM
S
scameron81  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 75
Healdsburg, ca, USA
We use 2X4's for the template. Two pieces fit snugly over the outside of the sono-tube. then the other two pieces go across with the holes in them for the anchors. Its nice because it gives you a little more room to work the concrete.

Re: setting anchors for pole #71155
10/25/06 11:31 AM
10/25/06 11:31 AM
Z
Zapped  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 482
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Some manufacturers will supply you with a template (either plastic or smetimes ply) specific to the pole you are installing. A phone call may save you alot of time.

The welding idea is good, as it seems it would also help keep the bolts level during installation. I have guys I work with that are welders, and I can perform simple welds myself. If time and budget allow, I'll use that next time. Thanks!

Re: setting anchors for pole #71156
10/26/06 05:23 PM
10/26/06 05:23 PM
L
luckyshadow  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 315
Maryland USA
I use the same method that scameron81 describes , but I screw the plywood template to the 2x4's. I then run a nut down the bolts place the bolts through the plywood, then run a nut down the bolts to the plywood. You can set the bolt depth this way. You end up with the bolts bolted to the plywood which is screwed to the 2x4's. As the concrete is poured I vibrate it, when it is at the top we lift the bolts and work them into the concrete until the 2x4's are sitting on the top of the sonotube.
then I use a concrete float to finish off the exposed parts. When the concrete is set up enough but still soft enough to work it.I remove the nuts that are now on top , then carefully lift the entire bolt pattern off. Then I remove the nuts that were under the plywood. I then prceed to finish the concrete and apply a nice brushed finish. When I am happy with the finish I run a nut down each bolt to the concrete then run the second nuts 1/2 way down the bolts. I then flip the plywood / 2x4 bolt pattern upside down and place it on the bolts resting on the second nuts. Sounds involved but it's really not.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,633 Are you busy
186,373 Re: Forum
175,849 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.032s Queries: 14 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9937 MB (Peak: 1.1543 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-20 01:09:02 UTC