ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by gfretwell. 12/10/18 12:35 AM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Pull out fuse panel?
by Trumpy. 12/06/18 02:12 AM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by rmiell. 11/30/18 01:03 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 32 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Disconnect at well? #70373
10/04/06 07:13 AM
10/04/06 07:13 AM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
How do some of you set the disconnect at a drilled well. I had one that had a 1 inch threaded opening where the wire was coming out. I ended up getting a 1" X 1/2" reducer and had to use a 8" galvanized nipple to get it high enough to screw a weatherproof bell box on, so it would miss the faucet and pipes coming out of the well. Even though with the cover on the well,though it may not be considered a "wet location", I wanted to use a weatherproof box, just in case the cover got blown off or something ( it was just a fiberglass one). Ended up being there til after dark, working by headlights of van [Linked Image] There was really no room to do much of anything else unless I could have screwed a 90 degree fitting into my 1" X 1/2" reducer, then flexed it around and then down to a box and mounted it on the fiberglass well casing itself. That would have been a bulky looking site, and don't know if it would have worked. Any suggestions? Thanks Steve..

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Disconnect at well? #70374
10/04/06 08:29 AM
10/04/06 08:29 AM
M
Mike Wescoatt  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 161
Cedar City, Utah
What I did was laid a 2" PVC under ground from the house (room for future expansion...) to a 12x12x6 NEMA 3 box for pulling. This was mounted to the well head steel casing on some unistrut. Three pieces made a triangle (in plan view) for upper screws, and three for the lower. A disco was mounted on the second side, and the starter / run capicitor was mounted on the third side. I looped from one box to the next using LTFNMC and same to the well cap. It has a 3/4" fem so I just used a reducer like you did to get it to 1/2".
The boxes are mounted solidly and its all NEMA3. To be fair, my well cap is 3' above grade and the pitless adapter is 6' under ground, so I didn't have any pipes at all to deal with.


Mike Wescoatt
Re: Disconnect at well? #70375
10/04/06 11:20 AM
10/04/06 11:20 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,323
Estero,Fl,usa
Everybody has a well here and the usual setup is a 3/4" RNC from the house to a PVC 3 hub FS box that is setting up about a foot on the feeder raceway and one more for support. Be sure to cap the one that is only for support or ants will invade the box.
They then come out of the top hub over to the well head. Sometimes they will transition to Carflex for that so the well guy can swing it out of the way for service.
Water doesn't freeze here so the pipes are above ground at the well head.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Disconnect at well? #70376
10/04/06 07:31 PM
10/04/06 07:31 PM
D
davemica  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
florida
I just set a pt 4x4 about 1' away from the well casing with about 3' sticking out of the ground, with 3/4 pvc coming up into an ac disconnect mounted to the post and liquidtight flex going to the pressure switch.

Has anyone ever actually grounded the well casing itself, and if so, how?

Re: Disconnect at well? #70377
10/05/06 08:23 AM
10/05/06 08:23 AM
M
Mike Wescoatt  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 161
Cedar City, Utah
I threaded a 3/8" bolt into the side of the casing then ran a 1/0 EGC from the head (in a lug) to the service panel. I now have a 375' ground rod... ;-) (in addition to the u-fer in the footing) This was part of the reason for the 2" tube...


Mike Wescoatt
Re: Disconnect at well? #70378
10/05/06 02:38 PM
10/05/06 02:38 PM
C
classicsat  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
Around here, submersible pumps in single family residential or light agricultural wells typically don't have disconnects at the wellhead, but in the basement next to the pressure system components.

Re: Disconnect at well? #70379
10/05/06 05:49 PM
10/05/06 05:49 PM
V
velect  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 81
st joseph mi usa
breaker lock at the service panel for residential


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,144 Are you busy
189,151 Re: Forum
178,822 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9853 MB (Peak: 1.1362 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-11 11:18:24 UTC