ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by mbhydro. 07/21/18 05:57 PM
Opinions & comments
by HotLine1. 07/21/18 04:44 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 26 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
2-120 v legs = 0 v ??? #67795
07/17/06 12:22 PM
07/17/06 12:22 PM
D
derater  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
I'm mystified. A friend of the wife's is having combo heat a/c units installed (Freidrich). The installer could not make the units work on the existing bb heat circuit. This AM I checked voltage; 120 to gnd on both bk. poles, and 240 between them. At the other end, 120 to gnd and ZERO between legs. Any one have any ideas?? . Also there IS 12-2 at the locations but the nameplate on the unit calls for 27.9 amps. Am I gonna need to pull 10-2? on a 30a bkr? More fun, it's a Zinsco.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 2-120 v legs = 0 v ??? #67796
07/17/06 01:41 PM
07/17/06 01:41 PM
R
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Would there happen to be a SINGLE pole thermostat in the circuit somewhere ahead of where you are testing as well as possibly another heater in the circuit after the thermostat still connected????..
I have seen this a few times where they use a single pole stat to break one of the hot legs of a heating circuit, which works effectively BUT when you test from any point in the circuit after the stat you will see 120V to ground, that is with the heater still connected across both legs... That will allow you to see 120V to ground on both legs but no 240V, as long as the stat is open.... Close the stat and you see 240 across both legs..

A.D

Re: 2-120 v legs = 0 v ??? #67797
07/17/06 02:40 PM
07/17/06 02:40 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,242
Estero,Fl,usa
I agree with rewired on the 120v thing. I also think you are pulling in a #10 if the "minimum circuit ampacity" on the label is 27.9. The breaker is sized to "maximum overcurent device" from the label. It will probably be bigger than 30


Greg Fretwell
Re: 2-120 v legs = 0 v ??? #67798
07/17/06 08:33 PM
07/17/06 08:33 PM
D
DYNAMITE  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 36
Winkler, MB, Canada
Are both poles of the breaker on the same phase?

Re: 2-120 v legs = 0 v ??? #67799
07/17/06 08:50 PM
07/17/06 08:50 PM
D
derater  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
Rewired and gfretwell, thanks; I'm an idiot or got too much sun over the weekend, I should have looked for the stats. The bb units were gone when I got there and I never looked at the walls,DUH.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,161 Are you busy
185,637 Re: Forum
175,005 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9675 MB (Peak: 1.1066 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-22 21:56:23 UTC