ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,427 Are you busy
177,400 Re: Forum
168,997 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#67795 - 07/17/06 12:22 PM 2-120 v legs = 0 v ???  
derater  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
I'm mystified. A friend of the wife's is having combo heat a/c units installed (Freidrich). The installer could not make the units work on the existing bb heat circuit. This AM I checked voltage; 120 to gnd on both bk. poles, and 240 between them. At the other end, 120 to gnd and ZERO between legs. Any one have any ideas?? . Also there IS 12-2 at the locations but the nameplate on the unit calls for 27.9 amps. Am I gonna need to pull 10-2? on a 30a bkr? More fun, it's a Zinsco.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#67796 - 07/17/06 01:41 PM Re: 2-120 v legs = 0 v ???  
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Would there happen to be a SINGLE pole thermostat in the circuit somewhere ahead of where you are testing as well as possibly another heater in the circuit after the thermostat still connected????..
I have seen this a few times where they use a single pole stat to break one of the hot legs of a heating circuit, which works effectively BUT when you test from any point in the circuit after the stat you will see 120V to ground, that is with the heater still connected across both legs... That will allow you to see 120V to ground on both legs but no 240V, as long as the stat is open.... Close the stat and you see 240 across both legs..

A.D


#67797 - 07/17/06 02:40 PM Re: 2-120 v legs = 0 v ???  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,123
Estero,Fl,usa
I agree with rewired on the 120v thing. I also think you are pulling in a #10 if the "minimum circuit ampacity" on the label is 27.9. The breaker is sized to "maximum overcurent device" from the label. It will probably be bigger than 30


Greg Fretwell

#67798 - 07/17/06 08:33 PM Re: 2-120 v legs = 0 v ???  
DYNAMITE  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 36
Winkler, MB, Canada
Are both poles of the breaker on the same phase?


#67799 - 07/17/06 08:50 PM Re: 2-120 v legs = 0 v ???  
derater  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
Rewired and gfretwell, thanks; I'm an idiot or got too much sun over the weekend, I should have looked for the stats. The bb units were gone when I got there and I never looked at the walls,DUH.



Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7683 MB (Peak: 0.9085 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-21 12:26:21 UTC