ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:20 AM
Another weird NEC code question on Feeder Taps
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:14 AM
NEC 2017_392.22(B)(1)(b)
_What's the smallest width

by Bill Addiss - 09/17/19 07:13 PM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:26 AM
Another NEC 2017 Question_240/24VAC Txfr-Neutral R
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:22 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 3 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64715 04/12/06 08:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 169
S
steve ancient apprentice Offline OP
Member
We will be doing a remodel on a house and will be useing a device ( Made in China) The romex is run into the box and we attach the wires to the receptacle and it snaps in to the box. No screws and the cover plate is the same way. Its a new product and would like to know if anyone has used this stuff. Its UL Rated and it seems it wouls save a lot of time and a lot easyer on the wrist. ANYONE?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64716 04/12/06 10:28 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
E
Electric Eagle Offline
Member
I've got a box of the free rough in's of the stuff right now in the shop. We haven't used them yet and are waiting for a good job to try them on. I like the idea of the system, the only problem I see is the device quality on the trim. Only time will tell if it catches on and if it is high enough quality to use.

I did see a competitor of mine that has 30+ trucks doing tract homes leaving their shop every day this morning had these sample packs on every truck. Looks like today was the day to try them. We'll see if they liked them. They are bottom feeders, so if it saves time, they'll use 'em.

Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64717 04/13/06 07:23 AM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 507
M
mahlere Offline
Member
eagle,

no offense, but do you really want to consider them competitors?

Quote
They are bottom feeders, so if it saves time, they'll use 'em.


maybe just consider them another electrical contractor that provides a lower level of service and work than you do. But direct competitor?

Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64718 04/13/06 08:32 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 49
S
sandro2 Offline
Member
Correct me if I am wrong but looking at http://www.cheetahspeed.com/cheetah_products_boxes.html
doesn't seem to me you can use any other type of devices but the cheetah.
What if u receive acall and need to replace this type of switch and or receptacle. Unless you stock them you need to possibly make 2 trips to the location.

Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64719 04/13/06 08:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 315
L
luckyshadow Offline
Member
according to cheetahs website under FAQ.
You can replace cheetah devices with standard devices . They also sell "speed anchors" to use in their boxes .
My only concerns would be quality of the devices and boxes and availability of the devices. If I were to use this system I think I would invest in those speed anchors just in case I can't get the cheetah devices and needed to use regular devices. That or order everything at once; the rough in boxes AND the devices/plates
Just my thoughts though

Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64720 04/13/06 12:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,392
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
How much wiggle room do you have to get the devices level when the box gets mounted crooked?


Greg Fretwell
Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64721 04/13/06 03:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 169
S
steve ancient apprentice Offline OP
Member
We nailed the boxes up today. I like the plastic wing that attaches to the box for support.Keeps the box from moveing side to side. Not much wiggle room if the box is crooked. Will let all of you know when the drywallis up and time to install the devices.

Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64722 04/13/06 05:14 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 247
T
techie Offline
Member
Looking at the FAQ, and the pictures, it looks like the devices actually do have screws, it's just that they ship with the speed anchors preinstalled. If you remove a device, you unscrew it, and have a choice of pushing the speed anchors out the back of the hole, and snapping in another cheeta device, or screwing in a regular device to the existing speed anchors..

Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64723 04/13/06 06:49 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,691
S
SvenNYC Offline
Member
This would be one helluva nightmare for the electrician or DIYer who didn't know about this system.

I know I'd be screaming a blue streak at something non-standard like this. [Linked Image]

Re: New Cheeta Boxes and receptacles #64724 04/13/06 07:12 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,392
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I imagine this will all come down to the money. If your wiremen are making a big number an hour you can spend more for parts that make them go faster.
I doubt I will see many here.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 6
Popular Topics(Views)
258,609 Are you busy
194,195 Re: Forum
183,672 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3