ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
diazed fuses
by annemarie1. 02/24/18 08:05 PM
Solid state relay or not
by gfretwell. 02/24/18 04:52 AM
Whirlpool Recalls KitchenAid Electric Kettles
by Admin. 02/22/18 11:35 AM
110.26
by gfretwell. 02/18/18 12:14 AM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 31 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Detached Garage #57110
10/05/05 02:19 AM
10/05/05 02:19 AM
S
Sparks30  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Connecticut.usa
I will be brining 3 circuits to the garage through a 1" PVC. It is about 20' from the house. Do i need disconnecting means for these circuits?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Detached Garage #57111
10/05/05 04:53 AM
10/05/05 04:53 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Sparks you really can't run three circuits to a detached building.

Quote
225.30 Number of Supplies.
Where more than one building or other structure is on the same property and under single management, each additional building or other structure served that is on the load side of the service disconnecting means shall be supplied by one feeder or branch circuit unless permitted in 225.30(A) through (E). For the purpose of this section, a multiwire branch circuit shall be considered a single circuit.


There are some allowances for more than one circuit but it is unlikely they will fit for you.

You need to look at 225.30 to 225.40

You need disconnects and grounding electrodes. If you have to have three circuits you will be installing a feeder with a panel at the garage.

Is it possible you could do it with just two circuits?

One multiwire branch circuit will provide two circuits and does not require the grounding electrode.

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Detached Garage #57112
10/05/05 01:55 PM
10/05/05 01:55 PM
S
Sparks30  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Connecticut.usa
I can do it with 2. I was tring to give then 2 power an 1 lighting. Now it will be a 12-3 circuit. Thanks for the help.

Re: Detached Garage #57113
10/05/05 09:13 PM
10/05/05 09:13 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,182
Estero,Fl,usa
Since the final stretch is only 20' or so, run it in #10-3. That way if they do outgrow your 20a multiwire you can put a 2/4 box in there and give them 4 circuits or 2 and a double pole 240 with minimal hassle.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Detached Garage #57114
10/05/05 10:47 PM
10/05/05 10:47 PM
S
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
Heck, if it was up to me, I'd definitely be doing a sub panel. If the owner needs power out there now, who knows what else he'll be adding in the future. It would suck to have to dig another trench when you could have done right the first time. The "ka-ching" portion of the job is also nice.

Good luck.

Re: Detached Garage #57115
10/07/05 02:18 AM
10/07/05 02:18 AM
S
Sparks30  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Connecticut.usa
Thanks for the replys. I most likly will go with the 10 wire. H.O want cheap. Doing 2 garage door outlet, 6 porcelin, 1 outside light and 8 outlets.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 9
Popular Topics(Views)
244,092 Are you busy
181,135 Re: Forum
171,327 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9750 MB (Peak: 1.1199 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-02-25 23:37:25 UTC