ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 2
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/11/17 12:10 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,013 Are you busy
179,411 Re: Forum
170,371 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 23 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#57110 - 10/05/05 02:19 AM Detached Garage  
Sparks30  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Connecticut.usa
I will be brining 3 circuits to the garage through a 1" PVC. It is about 20' from the house. Do i need disconnecting means for these circuits?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#57111 - 10/05/05 04:53 AM Re: Detached Garage  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Sparks you really can't run three circuits to a detached building.

Quote
225.30 Number of Supplies.
Where more than one building or other structure is on the same property and under single management, each additional building or other structure served that is on the load side of the service disconnecting means shall be supplied by one feeder or branch circuit unless permitted in 225.30(A) through (E). For the purpose of this section, a multiwire branch circuit shall be considered a single circuit.


There are some allowances for more than one circuit but it is unlikely they will fit for you.

You need to look at 225.30 to 225.40

You need disconnects and grounding electrodes. If you have to have three circuits you will be installing a feeder with a panel at the garage.

Is it possible you could do it with just two circuits?

One multiwire branch circuit will provide two circuits and does not require the grounding electrode.

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#57112 - 10/05/05 01:55 PM Re: Detached Garage  
Sparks30  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Connecticut.usa
I can do it with 2. I was tring to give then 2 power an 1 lighting. Now it will be a 12-3 circuit. Thanks for the help.


#57113 - 10/05/05 09:13 PM Re: Detached Garage  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,140
Estero,Fl,usa
Since the final stretch is only 20' or so, run it in #10-3. That way if they do outgrow your 20a multiwire you can put a 2/4 box in there and give them 4 circuits or 2 and a double pole 240 with minimal hassle.


Greg Fretwell

#57114 - 10/05/05 10:47 PM Re: Detached Garage  
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
Heck, if it was up to me, I'd definitely be doing a sub panel. If the owner needs power out there now, who knows what else he'll be adding in the future. It would suck to have to dig another trench when you could have done right the first time. The "ka-ching" portion of the job is also nice.

Good luck.


#57115 - 10/07/05 02:18 AM Re: Detached Garage  
Sparks30  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Connecticut.usa
Thanks for the replys. I most likly will go with the 10 wire. H.O want cheap. Doing 2 garage door outlet, 6 porcelin, 1 outside light and 8 outlets.



Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7765 MB (Peak: 0.9202 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-12 14:01:00 UTC