ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
Broken Outlet & Dangling Light
by LoneWolf - 06/14/21 08:21 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by C-H - 06/14/21 05:42 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 5 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#49550 03/09/05 05:56 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 74
J
jkraft Offline OP
Member
Just finishing up a new house, have all the power on, plug in the first smoke and it trips the AFCI. I've had smokes on these circuits before with no problem. Tryed a different smoke and a different AFCI, no help. Any ideas?

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 56
D
Member
same topic different question sorry to hijack. maybe someone can answer both. your wiring a new house and tying together all Smoke detectors do they hafta be on an arc fault?


Scott
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
G
Member
The NEC says all
outlets of any kind in a bedroom must be on AFCI. Here in Idaho the State has issued an advisory that it and all local AHJ's will accept smoke detectors in bedrooms without AFCI protection until such time as the technology catches up to the reality.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
S
Member
Don't your Smokes have to be on a dedicated circuit.

Rob

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
G
Member
Well, no. There is no required dedicated circuit for smoke detectors in a dwelling in the '02 NEC.
I don't do houses anymore, and while I think that a seperate smoke detector circuit is good planning, most of the time it's a cost issue and we all know how that goes.
I have heard reports of this problem with AFCI's and smoke detectors from a lot of guys. I think Idaho has the right idea, for now.

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
B
Member
OR, & WA, said no AFCI on smokes too.
I've never put smokes on dedicated circuit. but I never put enything after them.

So if you do put the smoke on an AFCI in the bedroom and you get an arc that starts a fire is the smoke still goen to work?
Hope the batterys are good?

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 74
J
jkraft Offline OP
Member
Smokes are required to be on AFCI in bedrooms.

Smokes are not required to be on seperate circuit.

Problem was neutral to ground contact in a receptacle.

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
C
Member
We put our smokes on the master bedroom circuit, therefore we have them on AFCI...no problems as of yet...we are in CT.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 14
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,396 Are you busy
213,468 Re: Forum
200,382 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5