ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/27/20 06:18 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/26/20 08:52 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:28 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 12 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Generac Home Stand-by #48480 02/12/05 10:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
S
sierra electrician Offline OP
Member
Has anyone ever installed a remote Start/Stop on these units.
Its a Generac 7kW Air Cooled unit with ATS/Load Center.
HO is old and can't make it to the Gen set to set to the Off position. Her gen ran 7 days straight and sucked her propane tank dry during the last outage.
I am wanting to install a switch at the ATS which is located inside her house. I've poured the schematics and can't determine if this can be done. The only option I can see is tieing into the HOA at the Gen and extending into the house. This is not a job I want to do because of the time it will take to recrawl under the house. This was not a easy feat the first tome around.

Thanks
Rob

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Generac Home Stand-by #48481 02/12/05 10:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 132
M
mhulbert Offline
Member
I'm not srue on this specific unit, but most gennies w/ an ats have a simple contact closure to start the engine. So if you tie in at the transfer switch, you should be able to do a HOA switch there.

Maybe the Generac system is different, I've never used on.

Good Luck

Re: Generac Home Stand-by #48482 02/12/05 10:42 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
S
sierra electrician Offline OP
Member
Yes, they are different they utilize a 4 wire start loop and it feeds into the PCB on the Gen.

Thanks
Rob

Re: Generac Home Stand-by #48483 02/13/05 08:22 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 40
R
rhiphi Offline
Member
try calling the tech line and ask them
every time i call them they are very helpful

Re: Generac Home Stand-by #48484 02/13/05 03:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
trekkie76 Offline
Member
You cant mess with the factory wiring at all on the generator, transfer, any of it. It will void the warranty. You could extend the 15 and 17 wires and work it, but if there is a problem with say the PCB, you cant claim it on the warranty. It ran for 7 days because there was no power? Is the customer just trying to conserve fuel? Another thing, its going to be very hard to get any more wires in the whip from the trans switch. none of the control wires in there will help you, unless you want to control the coils in the transfer switch. Hope that helped some.
........i may have found something for you, there is a terminal board on the generator with 178and 183, this is a remote start contact. should be able to use that for what you want, without altering the factory wiring. now, you just have to get two more control wires through that flex...

[This message has been edited by trekkie76 (edited 02-13-2005).]

[This message has been edited by trekkie76 (edited 02-13-2005).]

Re: Generac Home Stand-by #48485 02/17/05 08:44 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
S
sierra electrician Offline OP
Member
Trekkie 76
I had found the terminals you metioned on a PDF from Generac. Do these terminals on newer units? There are two different documents one ends with -0 the other ends with -1, I was figuring that one doc is pre 2000 and the other being post 2000.
This gen is about 70mi away so I'm trying to get all the info I need before I return.

Thanks for all your help.
Rob

This board needs a spell check.

Re: Generac Home Stand-by #48486 02/18/05 06:51 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 329
S
Steve Miller Offline
Member
Last one we did, we did wireless. Installed a series stop switch ahead of the factory stop switch. low voltage xfmr and NC timed relay worked fine. placed the receiver under the housing of the geny for weather protection and the xmitter runs on 9v battery. They push button, NC opens and geny stops. The timed relay stays latched (open in our case) for whatever time we set it for then releases. We set it for 30 seconds to give the xfer switch time to sense the loss of emer power and presence of POCO power and do it's thing. One big thing we had was a xfer setup that, once it lost power to the run loop, would not restart without a start pulse; otherwise it would restart or just sit there with the ignition switch open forever. Wasn't difficult to do and the best part is that nobody can figure out what we did so we now do the annual service which consists of changing batteries and testing xmitters. Kinda like job security. Yeah I know ... that's tacky.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
272,009 Are you busy
205,897 Re: Forum
193,951 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3