ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Baseboard Mounted Light Bulb Socket
by SPSchuman. 07/15/19 03:22 PM
Hunter Fan Recalls Brunswick 3 & 4 Light Fans
by Admin. 07/11/19 11:08 AM
Honeywell Recalls some Smoke Sensors
by Admin. 07/11/19 11:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 3 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
100 AMP Sub from 150 MAIN #48381
02/10/05 10:51 AM
02/10/05 10:51 AM
H
Happi_Man  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 206
Columbus, Ohio - USA
Is there any code against running a 100 AMP Sub Panel off of a 150 AMP Main Breaker Panel? Its a residential application the person who initially tlooked at the job mistook it for a 200 AMP Main and bid for a 100 AMP Sub. Just trying to save the checkbook to avoids eating a 200 AMP upgrade...

Any help?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 100 AMP Sub from 150 MAIN #48382
02/10/05 11:04 AM
02/10/05 11:04 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Sure, you could connect a 200 amp rated subpanel onto a 100 amp service panel if you wanted to.

There is only one issue to consider and that is the total calculated load or the real demand load for the past year.

So if either the calculated load or the demand load is under 150 amps you are good to go.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: 100 AMP Sub from 150 MAIN #48383
02/10/05 11:06 AM
02/10/05 11:06 AM
B
Bert66  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 80
Belle Chasse, La. USA
I don't believe there would be a problem as long as you size your conductors accordingly. I'm assumming that your 100 amp panel is a main lug only. If this were the case then your protection and means of disconnection is back at your 150amp panel. I would check with your local inspector, it may fall into an issue on that level.

Best of luck!!!

Re: 100 AMP Sub from 150 MAIN #48384
02/10/05 10:35 PM
02/10/05 10:35 PM
E
Electric Eagle  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
Alpharetta, GA
You could have a 100 amp sub off of a 100 amp sub off a 100 amp sub off a 100 amp sub off a 150 amp main. In other words your OK most likely.

Re: 100 AMP Sub from 150 MAIN #48385
02/11/05 09:05 AM
02/11/05 09:05 AM
H
Happi_Man  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 206
Columbus, Ohio - USA
Right on. Then 100 AMP Sub'd we be.

Thanks guys.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
257,129 Are you busy
192,961 Re: Forum
182,612 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9678 MB (Peak: 1.1065 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-07-20 16:28:37 UTC